Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 14, 2009 | 4:35 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature September 15, 2009
  • Weekly 2nd Place September 16, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Alice is Dead
    Alice is Dead It appears Alice is dead, and you might be the one who killed her.

Author Comments

Update:
Episode 2 is out now, continue down the rabbit hole.
Update: Thank you Tom for the frontpage!
And thank you everyone for your continued support.

Sorry if it's taking me a long time to get to your questions and messages, but I'm trying, just a bit overwhelmed.
-----
You've arrived in Wonderland, that's good. Alice is dead, that's bad. You don't know who you are, that's the worst.

Do you have what it takes to get out of Wonderland, and more importantly, figure out who you are?
Just a note, this game is unappologetically hard with some of the puzzles. It's a puzzle game, it's not meant to be easy. However, SHOULD you need help, there is a friendly walkthrough button right in the game.

I hope you guys enjoy this, it was a blast to make. Stay tuned for Episode 2!

Written by Mike M and Hyptosis
Programmed by Mike M
Art by Hyptosis

Reviews


TheBoy9TheBoy9

Rated 4 / 5 stars September 16, 2009

Great Game

Great game with eerie music which I liked...but like you said I found the puzzles pretty hard. All in all great game! Ready for chapter 2!



yuusuke1yuusuke1

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 16, 2009

good job

this is one of my most recent favorite games. the level of challenge and length were just about right and the story was great. i can't wait for the second episode of this fine series



xtiandgreatxtiandgreat

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 16, 2009

( . )( . )

GreaT JoB men....

Keep uP the handsome work....

This is a Great Game...

Maybe not too Hard but still Great....



GreyAcumenGreyAcumen

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 16, 2009

Pretty easy actually

The only challenging part was finding that one single unobtrusive item you needed in order to unlock the door at the beginning of the game. Everything after that was almost rote simplicity. Items that could be picked up to you inventory in some manner were easy to spot and it was merely a matter of testing which item you needed to use to pick it up. Item combination were almost too logical, and the solutions to many of the puzzles were almost too direct. This isn't necessarily bad, but it made your comment about the game being unapologetically hard unapologetically laughable.

The mood itself was well conveyed, supported very nicely by the art style, and for the type of game it was, I found the controls to feel very fluid and responsive. Commenting on the implementation of controls on a point and click puzzle game may seem odd, but they felt extremely polished.
I don't know why, but other similar games often feel slightly flawed, such as scene transitions taking too long, or it's too hard to find the spot to click on the screen for the transition, or it's too easy to click on. The image of an items sometimes aren't quite perfectly aligned with the hitbox that registers where you click on it, or there just isn't a enough feedback when you click on things and you're left clueless as to whether an item isn't working because you're using it wrong or because it's just part of the scenery, or sometimes too much feedback, and you're left watching little animations every time you click on something and not able to continue with the game until they finish.

I did notice that there were a number fo items that didn't seem to do anything. Were these all red herrings, or are there intentions that items can be carried over from game to game, and they may have some future purpose? I'm not sure entirely how that latter part might be managed, as it would be entirely possible to skip picking up the extraneous items, and as such, how would future games know what items people have picked up in previous games?

All in all, it made for a very enjoyable experience. The ending was a bit cheesy and cliche though. (someone wants him dead? Alice was the note, and she's dead herself now. Doesn't seem like there's an issue anymore) The only REAL complaint I have is more of a suggestion: the puzzles were all fairly logical, and while this is good from a pure puzzle creation aspect, this actually felt out of place from the perspective of Wonderland, which has always been somewhat... lucid. The opposing duality of logical puzzles in chaotic world make it feel like it's a puzzle game with an alice in wonderland theme slapped onto it.
Off the top of my head, I can't think of precisely how you would go about creating puzzles that would properly fit with the non-logic of wonderland, but I do think that it would benefit the game as a whole.


People find this review helpful!

imakeshit123imakeshit123

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 16, 2009

Wow, great game

I love it because of idea
good job