Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 2, 2009 | 3:55 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place September 3, 2009
  • Weekly 2nd Place September 9, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Made in 5 days using my Flixel framework. Music by the one and only Danny B! Recommend playing with great speakers or headphones and cranking this sh*t up.

Reviews


fjs95fjs95

Rated 4 / 5 stars September 2, 2009

Very good

I think thisx game is good, but not up to par. NO plot and it is too easy so only eight points.



AniMerrillAniMerrill

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars September 2, 2009

~claps~

Wow, this is a really cool game. 1) I love the classic feel to it, so classic in fact that it could almost be ported to the original GameBoy. 2) I loved the aspect ratio, something that, after playing this, I think more games (especially platformers) should employ, 3) the environment is very beautiful. Between the UTTERLY detailed background and your music, it is a very aesthetically pleasing game.

HOWEVER...

I ripped on someone for this yesterday, so you're not gonna get off completely guiltless. For all the ingenuity of it and the retro feel, I have a major beef against this game. And that is, except for tower defense styled games, platformers are the most cliche and disgustingly abused and overused genres of games submitted to websites such as Newgrounds. Honestly, except for the things I mentioned which, honestly, could have easily been applied to something better, this game is just another bland regurgitation of the same engine and concept and strategy used by most of the designing internet community.

All it appears to be is a storyless, bland platformer with no motivation except for the "daring escape," and after all of that its not even skill based. What this is, more or less, is a timing game. You may as well just programmed a timer with an assigned button to push everytime it goes off.... thats not a good recipe for a platformer. All that becomes is a Mario Party mini game. I mean, yes, it takes a lot of attention to time yourself over obsticles and stuff and, sure, it takes a lot more attention to adapt to the randomly changing scenery.

But players should feel in control of the protagonist, at least a little. This doesnt leave you with any responsibility except jumping. To me, that is lame and boring.

I didn't mean to sound like so much of an ass about all this, but I gave you every one of those stars up to 7 because I really CARE. This is an addicting game, and will become one of my favorites. But I challenge you to reach above the cliche. With your style, musical accompaniment, and inginuity you could do a LOT better with simple story elements and a bit more control I would think. IDK. You decide.

AND I WANNA KNOW WHY HE NEEDS TO ESCAPE, NOBODY NEEDS TO ESCAPE GIANT ROBOT MECHS IN THE DISTANCE FOR NO GOOD REASON!!!! XDDDDD

All in all, I did LOVE it, but I cant excuse the faults I see in games in general. Plus, I'm in a bad mood. Please, I look forward to seeing more from you.

Kthxbai.


People find this review helpful!

Necro-LancerNecro-Lancer

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars September 2, 2009

Ah, I loved it!

It reminded me of The Matrix, for some odd reason. If I were to make any suggestions (Which I must make, lest my "review" be removed.), I would suggest that you give him, or rather, YOU a reason to be running. Just a small back-story, nothing fancy, nor hard, but it can be a big plus for some people. I wouldn't change the graphics, except for one thing. The character should have a hat, and possibly alternate costumes. The hat should fall off at maximum speed, or after he breaks his first window. Gamplay-wise, I would add a "Deceleration" button, and an option to turn that off for proffessionals.



blackraineblackraine

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 2, 2009

Tuck and Roll! Tuck and Roll!

always remember to tuck and roll



somniuskenatesomniuskenate

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 2, 2009

Great, simple fun.

Very fun, parkour-style game. The simplicity and the music really add.


People find this review helpful!