Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 23, 2009 | 5:00 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice August 26, 2009
  • Review Crew Pick August 26, 2009
  • Daily Feature August 24, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

--------

Follow my work on TWITTER http://twitter.com/jamesl ee03

---------

The Tarboy SOUNDTRACK is now available for download here: http://www.hanialee.com/?
page_id=200

---------

Whoa! We're totally blown away by the response Tarboy's had so far :O We can barely keep up with all the incredible reviews, notes and emails! Thank you everybody for the daily feature and front page!
.............

It's taken us a long time to finally upload Tarboy, so thanks to all the people who've been waiting patiently. We hope you enjoy it :) Check out the Bonus features too, we put a lot of work into it!

The score was composed by Newground's own Hania Lee.

Now that we've got this one out we can focus completely on Tarboy II.

Reviews


maddflashDPmaddflashDP

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars August 31, 2009

It was alright.

Whilst watching this flash I continually questioned myself as to what was happening. The story seemed very under-constructed and recycled. The only way that I could keep sense from the story was the amount of cliches within the animation. I also did not understand how a robot microchip could create a boy made from tar. It was an interesting idea but could of used a little explanation on how something like that could of happened.

I am delighted to say that my eyes were somewhat "appitized" by the glorious display of colour and creation used. The animation was very smooth and the colours used created a deep feeling of the environment surrounding the child and the grandfather. The music only furthered my enjoyment with its excellent synchronization, it was a perfect fit for Tarboy.

The voice actors were superb and were fitting perfectly with the characters. The sound quality throughout the animation was excellent and it was a joy to my ears to listen to such superb acting to fit with such an excellent film.(I actually class this as a film).

I believe 5/10 is a fair and precise rating. You only gave half of the potential in the animation. Whilst the sound and animation quality were excellent, the story wasn't very well constructed and failed to catch an emotional response of any kind.

I hope that I have not offended you as you have read this.

-maddflash



lemonfacelemonface

Rated 2 / 5 stars September 23, 2009

Mixed really

As a newgrounds user, I can clearly see that this is a quality flash, with no flaws whatsoever.

But as a human, I just don't like it. Something about it rubs me the wrong way, and in my opinion, doesn't deserve to be the best of all time. But thats just because I don't like it.



wellidontknowwellidontknow

Rated 2 / 5 stars June 27, 2010

what?

ok, ive watched this 2 times trying to find anything the least bit entertaining in the entire flash and ill admit it has very good animation, but the story has been overdone and its not very original. IMO it does not deserve being at the top of the list. its not funny at all. i remember when the top submisions were actaully worth watching.



LighthatLighthat

Rated 2 / 5 stars November 3, 2010

Essentially a badly written cliché

There isn't much to say about this. I'm sure so many Tarboy fanboys are going to attack me for writing this, but at least I get my point across.

So, let's start with the good aspects.
The art style was phenomenal, and the sound effects were enticing to say the least, the music was well-synced with the animation and the music its self was actually really good, especially the jazz portion. The animation flowed smoothly and the voice acting was way above par.

But why a 4, you ask?
Well, this is a flash movie. You got the flash part down, but didn't quite get the movie part down. The story was aggravating: Why exactly were the robots down there? Did they have nothing better to do? Were they digging for resources? Were they expanding for an underground kingdom? What was this 'new and improved' way, exactly? How did memory chips form to become a living piece of tar, capable of abstract thought (revenge)? I also think hard drive would have been a better way to describe the memory chips, it more accurately reflects memory (because that's where everything in a computer is stored), but that isn't exactly a major flaw in the story, it's just me nitpicking. The story is filled with plot holes (how did they figure out his weakness, he killed everyone he saw!) and the story was painful to sit through. If it weren't for the artwork, I wouldn't even be able to sit through writing a review this thorough for it with it playing in the background.

Come to think of it, this is exactly the same as Waterlollies, the art and sound was beyond great, but the entire concept of a 'movie' is missed in both of these pieces. I can't really see how so many people like this. I can tell a lot of work went into it, and that's great, I respect that. Obviously, not enough work went into it though.

Since the story is the most important part of any movie (cloverfield anyone?), this gets six points off.



SullySully

Rated 1.5 / 5 stars December 9, 2010

What

I really don't understand why people like this so much. I gave it a three only because the animation was pretty good (note: PRETTY GOOD). The story line is quite stupid and makes little sense, and the music at the beginning legitimately makes me angry due to the story telling that goes along with it. Maybe it just isn't for me, but I think people need to examine it a bit more.