Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 23, 2009 | 5:00 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice August 26, 2009
  • Review Crew Pick August 26, 2009
  • Daily Feature August 24, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

--------

Follow my work on TWITTER http://twitter.com/jamesl ee03

---------

The Tarboy SOUNDTRACK is now available for download here: http://www.hanialee.com/?
page_id=200

---------

Whoa! We're totally blown away by the response Tarboy's had so far :O We can barely keep up with all the incredible reviews, notes and emails! Thank you everybody for the daily feature and front page!
.............

It's taken us a long time to finally upload Tarboy, so thanks to all the people who've been waiting patiently. We hope you enjoy it :) Check out the Bonus features too, we put a lot of work into it!

The score was composed by Newground's own Hania Lee.

Now that we've got this one out we can focus completely on Tarboy II.

Reviews


b-29erb-29er

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars March 12, 2010

It was okay

It wasn't anything too creative. While the animation style was very impressive, it's the same old story wrapped in gears and rivets. Lacks originality.



EtherealisticEtherealistic

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars September 25, 2009

Great animation..

but it just wasn't really that interesting. Obviously that's just my opinion and doesn't mean it isn't worth watching. Tarboy, boy made of tar. I wish I were original enough to make a name like that..



SawdustSawdust

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars August 27, 2009

Flash analog of Killzone 2

This movie reminds me a lot about Killzone 2, not because of the plot, but because of the production value. I mean, it's just marvelously crafted, the animation is flawless and the effects are brilliant, but the soft spots in this movie lay not in the animation, but in the film itself.

Fore example, there's the art direction. I didn't like it too well. I mean, sure you captured everything perfectly, but how it was presented isn't for me. Like the robots, they're too 'generic' or their style isn't too interesting or cool or whatever. The design is good but it's not anything groundbreaking. The only real flaw in this are like, the eyes of the robots, you could've gone with something like LED readouts with words instead of eyes or something, which is impractical I know, but hey it looks cooler. And Tarboy himself wasn't anything too memorable. I mean it's a silhouette of a spikey haird kid, you could've done better. Everything else about the art was fantastic. Cityscapes looked like cityscapes, lasers and lights looked like lasers and lights, so on and so forth. The background sequences were also nicely done.

The music is also another weak spot in this fine movie. It started out like some children's musical to be ran during the holidays, which was just odd. The music together with the flash gave it a very 'storybook' feel, which I didn't like. In fact, I'd rather have had the music been intense techno or Daft Punk-like house, it'd have made the movie's atmosphere a lot more intriguing, because, frankly storybook-esque flashes are weak. The music is great, and it fit with the movie, but a different style would've fit too, and it would've made the movie be better on the audio aspect. The sound effects also, are decent enough. But it would've been cooler if there were lightsaber sound effects during the fighting in the dark scene. Also, lol at the guitars in the end credits.

The story is probably the weakest part of the whole affair. I never felt drawn to know what would've happened next, so if for some reason firefox closed while I was watching it, I wouldn't bother going back the next time I boot firefox. The characters were all bland, with the exception of the douches in the office water cooler, best characters of the movie, IMO. The grandpa guy also was a tad bit annoying at times, and the terms written into his dialogue like "fatcats" and whatnot really didn't go so well with me. And Tarboy was generic, he didn't even remind me of a personification of revenge, he was just there, and all he did was do a couple of fancy moves and then melt. I suggest you make the story something special for Tarboy II, hire a professional writer or something.

That's all I have to say. an okay movie. I don't see what all the fuss is about. But you're one of the best animators on this site, kudos to that.


Lots of people find this review helpful!

Roto420Roto420

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 6, 2010

Unique

I enjoyed it. It could have been better as far as characters go. Hurray for the robot telling the story though



JTOmgJTOmg

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars June 7, 2011

Great flash.

But wow, way to sell out, you took something good and just kind of went with it.