Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 23, 2009 | 5:00 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice August 26, 2009
  • Review Crew Pick August 26, 2009
  • Daily Feature August 24, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

--------

Follow my work on TWITTER http://twitter.com/jamesl ee03

---------

The Tarboy SOUNDTRACK is now available for download here: http://www.hanialee.com/?
page_id=200

---------

Whoa! We're totally blown away by the response Tarboy's had so far :O We can barely keep up with all the incredible reviews, notes and emails! Thank you everybody for the daily feature and front page!
.............

It's taken us a long time to finally upload Tarboy, so thanks to all the people who've been waiting patiently. We hope you enjoy it :) Check out the Bonus features too, we put a lot of work into it!

The score was composed by Newground's own Hania Lee.

Now that we've got this one out we can focus completely on Tarboy II.

Reviews


SurpssSurpss

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars August 24, 2009

wow

Tarboy 2!!!!!! Now!!!!



bowdown2zimngirbowdown2zimngir

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 10, 2010

Very Original

Like the subject stated, pretty original, it like a combo of the movie Robots and the the movie princess bride (part of the grandpa telling the story), well that's what it reminded me of. Part with the janitor made me LOL. I was kinda sad that Tarboy melted, I would like to know of he does find the rest of his body, but the story suffices itself. I would have like a little more depth in the animation of TarBoy, like the rest of the robots, but tar is black, so i guess it makes for better realism.



VarzinVarzin

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars August 4, 2010

Excellent

Very nice idea. I once had a similar idea for a hero, but instead of tar imagine him made of living shadows, pure darkness.

I honestly think that the part when the lights are turned back off and tarboy and that big bug-like machine have their fight is one of the most well animated sequence of flash animation on newgrounds...ever.

As great as this is, I gave you a 9 for one specific reason. I would have liked to see you do more with the fact that he is made of tar. Throw some tar balls, shapshift, make his arms longer or shape them into blades (think [PROTOTYPE]). I think this would have made Tarboy into a much cooler hero, but this is just a suggestion. Would also like to see more. (^_^)

P.S. "Shut up Billy!" Love it. For that you get a second happy face! (*_^)



Kiba369Kiba369

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 4, 2010

Great!

Cool Animation, good story keep up the good work ! A quality adjuster would be great.



alt1tabalt1tab

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 2, 2011

great ending

great animation. i think your use of music is what really sets your work apart. the story was great, but the ending is what really did it for me; bad guy wins but with a hope for good guy redemption. keep it up. can't wait to see more from you.