Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 23, 2009 | 5:00 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice August 26, 2009
  • Review Crew Pick August 26, 2009
  • Daily Feature August 24, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

--------

Follow my work on TWITTER http://twitter.com/jamesl ee03

---------

The Tarboy SOUNDTRACK is now available for download here: http://www.hanialee.com/?
page_id=200

---------

Whoa! We're totally blown away by the response Tarboy's had so far :O We can barely keep up with all the incredible reviews, notes and emails! Thank you everybody for the daily feature and front page!
.............

It's taken us a long time to finally upload Tarboy, so thanks to all the people who've been waiting patiently. We hope you enjoy it :) Check out the Bonus features too, we put a lot of work into it!

The score was composed by Newground's own Hania Lee.

Now that we've got this one out we can focus completely on Tarboy II.

Reviews


dragongamer123dragongamer123

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 31, 2009

:O no wayyy!

this was of a gods power. incredible! this could be a movie!



11652651165265

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 31, 2009

:O wow

OHHHHHHH MMYYYYYYYYYYY GODDDDDDDDDD, so damn good

such a fluid flow of animation and music



ernest-aka-gooeyernest-aka-gooey

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 31, 2009

Damnit man...

This is incredible.
At first I was like "Ya it's pretty sweet whatever"
But then I found myself watching it again and again.
The sounds and music are SO incredible. How the hell did you do it? Hania must have godly skills.. that like, jazz piece is ridiculously good.
And and... the design of Tar Boy is pretty cool, like, ya, it has the potential to be better I guess? But damnit! The design of the "fat cat" guy, who escapes and tricks Tar Boy... SO BEAUTIFUL. Like, the drawing of him smiling all evil-like as Tar Boy melts.... my God its... good. Aha. And ya the music at that point helps immensely.
Um.
So basically.
Incredible.
Its interesting too because it would be cool if you made Tar Boy 2 because this one is great, but I'm not psyched for it. I don't find the story of it necessarily captivating, but how it is told is just inspiring. I'm not looking for the 2nd Tar Boy for the sake of wanting to know what happens next really, but for the sake of enjoying more of HOW you have gone about telling the story.
Basically it is not Tar Boy that I am looking forward to, but more of anything made by you.
... I should check out your other stuff


People find this review helpful!

jakex09jakex09

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 31, 2009

Awsome

I have seen this so many times because the art and the animation is so amazing! Newgrounds will probably be the cartoon version of like mtv some day. nvm. But i like how you made the credits fit in with the music and made it look like a movie.



SeruviusSeruvius

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 31, 2009

Damn

Brilliant flash
Can't wait for the next one