Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 23, 2009 | 5:00 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice August 26, 2009
  • Review Crew Pick August 26, 2009
  • Daily Feature August 24, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

--------

Follow my work on TWITTER http://twitter.com/jamesl ee03

---------

The Tarboy SOUNDTRACK is now available for download here: http://www.hanialee.com/?
page_id=200

---------

Whoa! We're totally blown away by the response Tarboy's had so far :O We can barely keep up with all the incredible reviews, notes and emails! Thank you everybody for the daily feature and front page!
.............

It's taken us a long time to finally upload Tarboy, so thanks to all the people who've been waiting patiently. We hope you enjoy it :) Check out the Bonus features too, we put a lot of work into it!

The score was composed by Newground's own Hania Lee.

Now that we've got this one out we can focus completely on Tarboy II.

Reviews


WyvennWyvenn

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 23, 2009

I am stunned.

Dude, I can't even find words for this review. This is definatly frontpage material and lightningh shall strike me if this is not going to be in the Top100.

I don't have to go into detail about this movie, because it's undoublty on the edge of perfection. The only downside I see, is that I can't decide which part I liked best. I think I choose the figh in the dark, the lightshow was just awesome.

Grafics 10/10
Animation 10/10
Sound 10/10
Narration/Story 10/10
Leaving-the-mouth-open-after-the-cred its-factor 10/10

THANK YOU for submitting this!


People find this review helpful!

UriahTWolfeUriahTWolfe

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 23, 2009

On par with Burton, I'd say

Several parts of this flick evoked a feeling not at all unike that feeling one gets when watching a Tim Burton flick. I'd love to see this as a full-length movie - great story and very professional animation. Very detailed and chock full of the kind of subtlety that makes a story seem "alive". Kudos! :-)


People find this review helpful!

ajerickajerick

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 23, 2009

Woow!

This is amazing!, the music, the animation, the desing, all is amazing!, congratulations!!


People find this review helpful!

SoapbubbleSoapbubble

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 23, 2009

Incredible!

===============
Score: 10 / 10
Summary: Amazing
Review: I'm always amazed when I find a masterpiece still under judgement, and this is no exception.

This will go straight into the top 50, and I'm amazed if it doesn't hit the #1 by next week. It's THAT amazing.

Graphics/Animation
There's not much to stay here. The drawings are made out to look simple, with few intricate shapes, but it still looks amazing. The robots really look like robots, and the slaves look simpler than all of the others. I love the detail that's put into the close-up of the gun, the smoke, and in general, oof everything. It looks amazing. The colors fit perfectly with the mood, I especially like the black/white parts in the chase with tarboy. It's nice how we never see more o tarboy than his black being, and his mouth at times.
Animations were smooth and greatly done. It coould just as well have been live action, that's how good it was.

Plot/Story
Tarboy? A boy made out of tar and the memory chips of a million slaves? Seriously, how did you come up with that? If someone told me about a movie about a boy made out of tar and the memory chips of a million robot slaves, I'd laugh, but this is great. The eager dad/granddad telling the story to his son/grandsno, and the slightly surprise ending, it's great. It's a great way of telling the story. The story itself is absolutely incredible as well, I love it. It's new, and it's well-made.

Sound
One of the best soundtracks I've heard set to a flash. Hania really shows talent here. The music fits extremely well to every scene it's put in, and there's nothing to complain about.

Conclusion
I rarely review stuff that isn't requested at the Review Request Club, mainly because I can't find the time. I can barely finish the weekly requests over there. This time, however, I felt like I had to do it. It's just that incredible. You've done a great job here, and it's a piece you can be proud of.

Favourited Flash
Favourited Author
10/10
5/5
===============


Lots of people find this review helpful!

SynnyrSynnyr

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 23, 2009

Ah Yes

I love a little bit of originality here once in a while. Great job.


People find this review helpful!