Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 17, 2009 | 10:46 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice August 18, 2009
  • Daily Feature August 18, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Acupuncture 5 Points Get skewered on spikes
Gold Star 5 Points Launch the Turtle
Jump Man 5 Points Smash a goomba
Novice 5 Points Launch 1 mile (5,280ft)
Question Mark 5 Points Find the hidden button
Amateur 10 Points Launch 5 miles (26,400ft)
Drunk Driver 10 Points Blow up a jeep
Harrasment 10 Points Crush an angry ground creature
in Space 10 Points Reach space
Strong Armed 10 Points Get punched by a banana
Abducted 25 Points Get caught by a UFO
Icarus 25 Points Get burned by a sun
Persistent 25 Points Play over an hour
Professional 25 Points Launch 10 miles (52,800ft)
Radioactive 25 Points Use a nuke
Addicted 50 Points Play over 2 hours
Golden Shell 50 Points Buy everything
Master 50 Points Launch 25 miles (132,000ft)
Traveler 50 Points Total over 1 million feet
WorldsEdge 100 Points Launch 50 miles (264,000ft)

Author Comments

Toss the Turtle
Use cannons, bombs, and jetpacks to shoot your turtle as far as possible!
Collect cash to upgrade your equipment.
Controls:
Click and hold to gain power, release to fire
Use the WASD keys to control the turtle in flight
Click with your mouse to shoot the turtle

Art by Gonzo
Programming by Foreverkul
ATTENTION: An iPhone version is in development at this time. Don't support thieves!

Version 1.3.3NG Update
-patch for reaching 10million+ and misc tweaks

Interested in hosting this game? Contact me kul_dg[a]yahoo.com

Reviews


helmutlordhelmutlord

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 18, 2009

Close to perfection

There have been a lot of games in this genre, and with a few additions to this game I might need never play them again. The following are just some nitpicky opinions for you to think about in the chance that perhaps a future game might be that one step closer to perfection, but I really think this game is excellent - it looked beautiful and was balanced like a dream:

1. The ability to see 'Best' and 'Money' while playing. I like to see how much I'm collecting, and how close I am to beating a record.
2. You're game has a near perfect balance of chance and skill. Closer than any other 'launcher' game I've seen. The only suggestion I could make is perhaps have the money and ammo collected with the mouse, rather than the turtle. Flying high has skill involved, and flying low has avoidance skill involved, but adding mouse collection could potentially add skill to the mid flying parts.
3. Some kind of 1/500 ultra rare combos or power-ups I think could push the addictiveness into the third hour. Mix that with aligning your backgrounds in a linear, unchanging order to give people the unconscious reward for travelling into new areas and this game could be an all day affair.
4. There were a couple of clipping issues that allowed me to fly straight through certain power ups. Not a deal breaker by any means, but fairly consistent; about one for every launch.
5. This might be un-do-able, but there were many times where I was unable to judge my speed and adding specks of 'dust' that sped up and slowed down in exact proportion to my speed would have been great. Well, that or just a speedometer of some kind.
6. Lastly, and maybe most importantly a quick restart button. Later in the game I'll accidentally just tap the mouse and the turtle will drop out of the canon - now I have to wait for up to 10 minutes while I rack up a measly 20,000ft. Even if I was able to just manually slow down the turtle very quickly with the keys, it would be an improvement.

Also, that last medal remains elusive. I've launched the turtle well over 350,000ft without touching the ground, and it still remains unchecked. I don't know what you want from me!

Anyway, great job!


People find this review helpful!

MinathielMinathiel

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 29, 2010

Nice

Its a super addictive game ... I finished it in 2 hours(got all medals and my record was 4,3million).You should really make a sequel



enderman8884enderman8884

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 21, 2012

bloody...but awsome...i cant say how cool this 100/5



Patrik-fooPatrik-foo

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 10, 2011

Killer

Perfect time-killer



SitriousSitrious

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 18, 2009

Awesomely addicting

After months have passed I still return to play this game every now and then. Currently my best play includes:

7,116,689.2 feet distance (without a safety bomb!)
1,842 feet high

Interesting facts:

1 rocket used
98 nukes used
18 golden bullets used
1 newgrounds tank used
died by floating spike
had califlower pizza dinner to celebrate (I kid you not...)

Suggestions:
Although the music available is exciting and appropriately chosen, it would be nice to have at least one more choice.