Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 17, 2009 | 10:46 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice August 18, 2009
  • Daily Feature August 18, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Acupuncture 5 Points Get skewered on spikes
Gold Star 5 Points Launch the Turtle
Jump Man 5 Points Smash a goomba
Novice 5 Points Launch 1 mile (5,280ft)
Question Mark 5 Points Find the hidden button
Amateur 10 Points Launch 5 miles (26,400ft)
Drunk Driver 10 Points Blow up a jeep
Harrasment 10 Points Crush an angry ground creature
in Space 10 Points Reach space
Strong Armed 10 Points Get punched by a banana
Abducted 25 Points Get caught by a UFO
Icarus 25 Points Get burned by a sun
Persistent 25 Points Play over an hour
Professional 25 Points Launch 10 miles (52,800ft)
Radioactive 25 Points Use a nuke
Addicted 50 Points Play over 2 hours
Golden Shell 50 Points Buy everything
Master 50 Points Launch 25 miles (132,000ft)
Traveler 50 Points Total over 1 million feet
WorldsEdge 100 Points Launch 50 miles (264,000ft)

Author Comments

Toss the Turtle
Use cannons, bombs, and jetpacks to shoot your turtle as far as possible!
Collect cash to upgrade your equipment.
Controls:
Click and hold to gain power, release to fire
Use the WASD keys to control the turtle in flight
Click with your mouse to shoot the turtle

Art by Gonzo
Programming by Foreverkul
ATTENTION: An iPhone version is in development at this time. Don't support thieves!

Version 1.3.3NG Update
-patch for reaching 10million+ and misc tweaks

Interested in hosting this game? Contact me kul_dg[a]yahoo.com

Reviews


RahaaruRahaaru

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 27, 2009

Hell yeah

This is a great game is one of my favorites. My high score is 1549170. Try to beat that! ^_^. 10/10 of course



VelizegVelizeg

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 27, 2009

awesome game

my highscore is 3673868 and i still dont have the strongest cannon, hahahaha


People find this review helpful!

VelvetDarkRocksVelvetDarkRocks

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 27, 2009

An excellent game.

It's very similar to Hedgehog Launch in many ways, and yet entertaining for all its uniqueness. A greater variety of items (including weapons!) and the inclusion of enemies sets this game quite apart.

First off I'd like to say there's something morbidly addictive about watching a turtle (very obviously based on a Squirtle) being beaten to a bloody pulp. Equally satisfying was watching your turtle backflip over spikes, narrowly avoiding a gruesome death. This inspired the idea of a ninja turtle upgrade- giving your turtle a bandana, and instead of being battered every time it hit something (or was hit by something), moving in backflips and not appearing to take damage (unless via spike death).

Secondly, the game was challenging at first with so few things available for purchase. The shop prices were cleverly set up so that you had to make some initial purchases like the jetpack and cannons in order to set the foundations for future purposes. Eventually though, with certain weapons and jetpacks, one could propel oneself potentially indefinitely. It became ridiculously easy to advance hundreds of thousands of feet. The turtle spent minutes in the air, and it became quite boring holding down the w and d keys and just waiting for the turtle to come to a stop so it could be tossed again.

This leads me to my next point. The in-game medals were satisfying to collect. It was a great idea to have the medals give bonuses in-game! However. I feel that in the newgrounds medals overvalued "distance reached" and more points should be given to "time played", "height reached" (I was consistently reaching 2700 feet) and "items bought". And possibly enemies stomped. With the Tank (nice inclusion of newgrounds there) and the Golden Gun I easily reached 1.5 million feet but there wasn't any reward other than collecting money ($200000 from that level, I think) to buy more items to get the medal. Plus it's taken me less than two hours to do so, so time playing shouldn't be held as valuable as achievements earned.

And of course once you've bought everything, there's little value to continue playing because of the lack of story. I think what this game really needs is background. Even something as ridiculous as the one used in Hedgehog Launce (sending hedgehogs to the moon for research purposes) gave the game a purpose and a very satisfying (and adorable) conclusion. This is the main thing Toss the Turtle is lacking.

Another thing the game could have used is a stats page: how long you've played, total distance covered, that kind of thing. And an indicator in-game to show you how many of which enemies you've hit and how much money you've earned from the cash bags.

All up though, a solid and very enjoyable game, though it can be tiresome in the later levels.

Tips for players!
-Guns with more ammunition are more effective than guns with more power. The AK47 is just as effective as the Golden Gun.
-The angle of descent is the main factor for the height recovered when using weapons. In other words, it doesn't matter what altitude your turtle is at. Just wait for your turtle to face as head-first as possible to the ground, and shoot it the moment you can. Remember, if it's been off-screen, it's already fallen several hundred (if not thousand) feet so it's already angled quite sharply. Landing consecutive shots will send it right back up there.
-Invest in the chest bomb when you can afford it: the distance it can get you is far greater than the cost.
-Once you have a decent version of each, upgrade your jetpacks first, your cannons second, and your weapons last.
-Enjoy!

~VelvetDarkRocks~


People find this review helpful!

falconman778falconman778

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 27, 2009

awsome

I have the all the cannons and wepons and all the medals



SabotstarrSabotstarr

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 27, 2009

wow

I've played this for over2 hours and it still is fun. Haven't been able to hit the Jeep...but other than that and a few of the hit something 50 time medals i have them all. Great game, agree that the AK is the best gun. Good job.