Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 13, 2009 | 3:08 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place August 13, 2009
  • Weekly 4th Place August 18, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Zelda
    Zelda Link and his misadventures have always made for some great spoofs and tributes.

Author Comments

First off the animation is huge, it's 12 megs big, so it'll take awhile to load. If you don't have the patients for that, then um... go watch something else. Something less insultingly huge. Perhaps a video involving cats, or excessive violence.

Well, here it is. The Legend of Link, Episode II: Oh Yes And Spiders.

You can find the opening theme music used in the animation at the www.songstowearpantsto.co m website, and the rest of the music over at http://ghostfacekilobyte.
com/

It only took me forever to make it, and it required the help of dozens upon dozens of other talented people.

Also the first quarter or so of it is up on youtube. http://www.youtube.com/wa tch?v=WLtkxAPgkIA but it ends telling people to go to newgrounds to see the rest.

The Legend Of Link is a pixel art animation, made almost entirely with frame by frame animating.

Enjoy please.

Also, if you bother watching the whole thing (it is very long) Do watch all the credits, as many people other than me helped with this, most of them without newgrounds accounts and their effort disserves a moment of your time.

Updatey thing ---

Thanks to people who watched it. Thanks for front page. Though it's probably down now as clock day I'm sure has presented billions of frontpage worthy entries.

Especially thanks to everyone who gave all those really... really complimentary reviews. They creep me out but are very nice.

I do not thank those of you that hated the animation, but I do respect you. Especially those that reviewed it and said what they disliked. You're wrong of course, but I respect you.

--end updatey thing.

--Another updatey thing

I'm... back on the front page. That was unexpected.

Not that I mind. Whoever did that I thank them with all my little heart. It was kind of you.

--end updatey thing.

Reviews


robinkomrobinkom

Rated 4 / 5 stars February 13, 2011

Constructive comments

First of all, this is some fantastic pixel art animation. It's very consistent and spot on. Sounds effects were also superb. I like the obvious influences from the American Zelda cartoon from the 80s.

My criticism comes with the dialog and voice-overs. There was a lack of structure in the storytelling beyond the Giant Spider segment. For the length of this movie, you could have crafted an enticing story that was beginning to set itself up with the Giant Spider attack and weaved the humor into the narrative's conflict.

At times the jokes tend to drag on beyond the punchline and it slows the overall pacing. Several bits could have been simplified in their delivery and punchline with cutting out some of the rambling glut of dialog around them. What resulted was this mass of continuous jokes that were so long and complicated, they could have been divided into their own individual flash movies.

The "fanboy in-joke" style that was evident in some of the humor was lost on me I have to say. While I'm a Zelda fan, I'm not one to indulge in those kind of jokes as I feel they appeal to a niche segment of the fans.

Lastly, the emphasis on several lines of the script were poorly delivered and came off as slick as Shenmue voice acting. I'm obviously not expecting professional Hollywood-quality work but carefully planning out the intonation and timing needed for each setup and punchline would have been prudent to many scenes.

Again... this constructive criticism. I hope you're not of that walk of artists that can't handle people disparaging their work for it's flaws. We don't strive to improve if no one tells us we can do better.


People find this review helpful!
Emptygoddess responds:

Indeed, the overall structure of the animation (or lack thereof) is its weakest Link.

Ha. Get it? Cause his name is link. hehee...he.....

Also, Shenmue voice acting is awesome! The main character is supposed to be mentally incompetent and without emotion... right?


WorkingforzeroWorkingforzero

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 20, 2011

I like your style of humour

It was long but worth the time (credits dig)!


Emptygoddess responds:

I also dig you, cool cat.


KexmedsaftKexmedsaft

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 6, 2011

Awesome!

I thought I was not going to watch everything but I did it and it was really funny!
good job man


People find this review helpful!
Emptygoddess responds:

Good job human!


wideblockwideblock

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 29, 2010

Great!

Very good animation,music,and comedy,great job!Seemed like I was watching it for a hour.


People find this review helpful!
Emptygoddess responds:

You may have watched it twice. Which would feel like an hour because it was.


TKiraTKira

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 11, 2010

briliant

i'd give 10 just to the capella song at end, and i just can't see any flaw on the entire animation, for me this is one of the best animations ever seen on newgrounds.


Emptygoddess responds:

That's very kind of you to say. I shall inform the capella musican of your love.