Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 12, 2009 | 7:46 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature August 12, 2009
  • Weekly 2nd Place August 18, 2009

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Thank you for FP newgrounds. You guys are awesome to make all things possible.

The original animation by Josh Wimble dared me to do this remake. I was hoping someone would have eventually done a remake because the original was so moving. So here I present my version and hope that all who have seen the original will be moved once more.

Music by Switchfoot.
Original story by Josh Wimble.
Animated by Patrick Majewski.

Reviews


SanksSanks

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 19, 2009

good story and values

i liked the music and the dudes life story nearly made me bust a tear. Great work


People find this review helpful!

kingsman13kingsman13

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 20, 2009

...I think I nearly crapped myself.

That's probably the most inelegant thing I could say, but it's true.

I'm not a very hard-working person. I can barely meet school standards, forget higher ones. I don't think about the future, I live for the moment, I do what I want. It's not a great philosophy, but it's one with immediate rewards and temporary pleasure via spurts of indulgence.

And then I saw this.

I haven't heard this song from Switchfoot for years- literally, years. I never understood its meaning, thought it was guff, made fun of it with my sisters when it came on the radio. But... this animation got to me. I don't like to think of the future, especially the inevitable end of all things living, but I now realize that just closing my eyes to it, waiting for some way to arise which prevents it from happening, is a fruitless and immature gesture. Immersion in alternative forms like video games and such can only make us ignorant- it can't make us our characters, or make us invincible, even though that's what I've been deluding myself into. Death comes from us all; the only thing we can do about it is know that when it comes, we made a difference we can be proud of.

Someday, my grandparents, parents, and siblings may all die... how will I be seen in their eyes? Life only looks long-lasting to those who have not lived it. Will I be the person who wasted the chances they gave me? Will I be the person who did nothing when action was necessary? Will I be someone who, God forbid, they're ashamed of?

Or... will I be the person who moved?

I think I understand now... Thank you, Josh Wimble, and thank you Patrick Majewski. This... it may be exactly what I needed to see.

I think I have some homework to do.


People find this review helpful!

iliketoplaygamesiliketoplaygames

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 7, 2010

this is

moving. this bought me to tears. this is the best flash on newgrounds.


People find this review helpful!

EpicAceEpicAce

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 18, 2009

Please don't take this hard people

does anybody else see the message in the song is for you to look to someone well up there?
(didn't want to offend anybody so i didn't say it)
if you are offended you may delete this message,if i am banned it's ok...



FrogOfDrakojaFrogOfDrakoja

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 6, 2010

I was holding back for the longest time...

...but I was bawling before the end.

I've seen the original, and while both are truly inspirational, I don't know, yours touches so very close to home, even though I myself am not particularly stirred by religion...

I myself am a Deist (believe there is a higher power of some kind, perhaps not a rule-abiding God per se), and while I think the Bible is heresy, unless someone can prove to me it was written by God himself, this nevertheless shows that, sometimes, even when things are darkest, faith is all we have left...and faith is what ends up saving many in the end.


People find this review helpful!