Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 17, 2009 | 3:03 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature July 17, 2009
  • Weekly 2nd Place July 21, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Flight 5 Points Find the wings.
Weather Mage 5 Points Turn off the rain.
Dominus Lux 10 Points Slay five darklings.
Deviation 25 Points Unlock all boxes and switches.
Resolution 25 Points Complete the game.
Sensitive Nose 50 Points Find all of the mushrooms.
Sly Fox 100 Points Earn more than 35,000 points.

Author Comments

This is probably my best game to date. I wanted to make something more accessible, as most of my flash games have been too complicated for my family to play. :3

I really hope you guys enjoy it, I think it's the most effort I've put in to anything. A big thanks to everyone who helped me test, and Tom and NG for the sponsorship!

As always, leave a comment! I love reading them.

EDIT: The game has version detection, but YOU NEED FLASH 10 to play it. If you have trouble loading the game, please send me a PM with the details.

EDIT: Because nearly everyone is saying they can't figure out the boss's pattern, I've made a slight change that should make it more obvious. Once the game update is approved I'll let you guys know and you can try again with the new pattern. *Alright it's up now*

********** FOR ANYONE WITH LOADING PROBLEMS**********
If you're getting a black screen after the Newgrounds and Particlasm screens this applies to you. This might also help with the loading bar freezing. This was posted by a Kongregate user (thanks Knork):

"If the game does not load past the ads make sure that ngads.com and ads.newgrounds.com are not being blocked in your hosts file. Which is located under C:\WINDOWS\system32\drive rs\etc
If they are, uncheck the "Read-only" attribute and edit out those two lines."

If this works for you let me know.

Reviews


BopFizzleBopFizzle

Rated 3 / 5 stars July 21, 2009

...

the fox is cute but i don't get the point of the game. like, what are you supposed to do?



bobbyg64bobbyg64

Rated 3 / 5 stars August 11, 2009

okay

while the grapics are good, and the animation is smooth, the gameplay gets repetative fast. If you just added some more variety, it would be alot better, for me, and for everyone else, too, i think.



olek13olek13

Rated 3 / 5 stars July 27, 2009

good but not fun

it is well made but really really boring


People find this review helpful!

The-Great-OneThe-Great-One

Rated 3 / 5 stars July 18, 2009

Great Artistic Tragedy

When I started playing this game the visuals enraptured me. Your artwork and animation are outstanding, to be honest quite masterful and you should receive credit where credit is due. The controls seem awkward and I thought that these might be odd controls that I would have to get used to over time, but no they weren't, they were a bit stiff to be honest and as for landing on a platform you're fighting with the controls, I've fallen out of the trees on more than one occasion. The next thing is going to be the story, although a simple one it's probably a little too simple and not really reliable to its name. The game is called William and Sly, although you play as Sly, William hardly does anything except give you a map. Now then the one thing that truly does this game no justice is the gameplay, although not bad it's boring and I am truly surprised that I made it to the end of the game, it was long, but very tedious... collect and find is all this game is. Within the game there are your enemies which honestly are unfair to the gamer, you can't see them until they're coming after you and the only way to fight them off is by gaining invincibility by unlocking a Teleporting Stone, that alone isn't fair. I know this isn't supposed to be a challenging game, but you could've at least given Sly some kind of attack. Next is going to be the teleporting stones, this is what kept me playing through the game, I honestly thought that you'd be able to choose which stone you'd want to go to manually, however you set this up in a weird way as well by having to unlock each stone to be able to teleport between them... say if someone unlocked the third stone, but not the second one... well they can't teleport to the first stone with first unlocking the second stone, I see what you were going for and it was a stupid idea. Another thing is going to be the map and the overall game itself. By introducing teleporting stones you had opened possibilities for an amazing game, but ruined it by making one giant clustered world that gets confusing, and it doesn't help that your map is small to where it's hard to read it... oh yeah and your map doesn't count as pausing so you can end up losing all your Fairy Flies from an enemy you didn't even know was there... plus you can't view the rest of the area in front of you or even behind you just what's majorly around you, don't get me wrong, but aren't you supposed to use a map to help you go somewhere instead of taking a path, opening your map, and then seeing that you went the wrong way? Your sound overall was quite superb, making the game peaceful, however combined with the boredom you receive playing it just makes you drowsy. You had an amazing concept for a game, but ultimately it didn't work out so well in the end. This is certainly an idea that I would like to see you do once more because it's a wonderful idea, but perhaps a small bit of complexity would suit this game well.

|| Good Points ||
*Masterful Artwork
*Masterful Animation
*Superb Sound
*Good Story
*Good Controls
*Good Gameplay

|| Bad Points ||
*Boring



Dman290Dman290

Rated 3 / 5 stars July 22, 2009

It was ok

The gamplay was good