Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 11, 2009 | 10:57 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place July 12, 2009

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Try to blow up as many robots as you can.

There are 10 fast paced rounds. 6 different robot types which explode in different ways.

Goal was robot-themed chain reaction genre meets wario-ware-like frenzied 5-second game play.

I'm aware that it seems largely luck based but I enjoy it and there is a bit of strategy involved to getting consistent B ratings and above. I am paying attention though and thinking about the luck vs strategy balance so please keep that constructive feedback coming, I'm listening!

*UPDATE* Thank you everyone for the Daily Second Place award! It is always encouraging to get positive motivation like this.

*UPDATE 2* Thanks again everyone for getting this onto the frontpage featured games area! I'm very appreciative of you all playing my game.

VERSION HISTORY: (your feedback is improving this game, thanks!)

v1.0 - July 11th, 2009: Released.

v1.0.1 - July 12, 2009: Added ratings (A - F) and ratings text based on feedback.

v1.0.2 - July 13, 2009: Added local highscore tracking with progress messages.

v1.0.3 - July 14, 2009: Added slight delay w/ fadeout and round robots killed display between rounds, added sound and music mute buttons, fixed 1 off error in highscore message (thanks deadpenguins!)

Reviews


andale524andale524

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 13, 2009

good...but..

i liked it. good idea. could've been a bit longer. good song.
looks good sounds good and different idea==7/10


People find this review helpful!
HybridMind responds:

Thank you for the review! I'm glad you liked the song and my take on the chain reaction genre. Your comment regarding game length is duly noted.


SparkyBlanketSparkyBlanket

Rated 3 / 5 stars July 13, 2009

i like it ...but

good idea and all but its just way to short


People find this review helpful!
HybridMind responds:

Thanks for taking the time to play my game and leave your review. Yeah, this game is pretty short it is true. I wanted to get some valuable feedback before attempting a larger scope game with this concept.


MrQnixMrQnix

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 13, 2009

Cool...

The game was very cool, I just didn't like the lack of more levels and the repetitive gameplay.


HybridMind responds:

Thanks a bunch for playing and leaving your review. I definitely want to expand the concept in a followup game so your comments regarding game and level length are quite helpful.


PrinceTykePrinceTyke

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 12, 2009

Cool

It was cool. I had a little trouble the first time through, learning the robot types, but subsequent times it was really fun. Good job on everything and I look forward to future submissions. Maybe a sequel? :)


People find this review helpful!
HybridMind responds:

Thank you. I'm hoping to learn enough from seeing how the game does 'in the wild' and from people's thoughts on it so that I will be able to take that knowledge and apply it to a sequel that is even more fun. At least learning the robot types is explosive and quick right? ;)


PsychoNirvanaFanPsychoNirvanaFan

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 12, 2009

pretty good game

when i saw how this was a chain reaction explosion game, i thought it would be a cheap imitation of the game boomshine. but this has its own differences and it is pretty fun. i just think you should make more levels or an endless or a time attack mode for more variety but overall, it is a good game.


People find this review helpful!
HybridMind responds:

Thanks for the feedback! I definitely wanted to do my own take on the chain reaction genre and spent a few weeks playing various games in the genre and pondering what I wanted to do differently with my first attempt.

I am pretty happy with my initial results on this project and will be applying the feedback I'm receiving to future projects for sure. I'm debating whether to go multi-mode with this game or not because it is already released. I may have to save that for a follow up.