Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 28, 2009 | 8:21 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice June 30, 2009
  • Review Crew Pick June 30, 2009
  • Daily Feature June 28, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

"Cripple Kane confronts the corrupt sheriff 'Blind-eye Bill' in an epic western showdown."

WATCH THE COOL CREDIT SEQUENCE AT THE END!

So. I started this in late April/early May of 2008. It all started when 'Decade Studios' Perry, a Newgrounds user friend of mine, sent me a song and said "This song reminded me of you". That Song was "A Gringo Like Me". Instantly I started animating the very beginning of this video, just as a fun little project. This fun little project expanded and expanded to turn into the ambitious monster that is this movie. All these ideas for the video came to mind. Make some sort of ultimate western extravaganza. Only problem is, I had always had trouble animating horses. That's what put this project on hold for so long. But thanks to ZekeySpaceyLizard, he jumped in and helped me with some horse legs on a front shot movieclip. That was basically the wall breaker and I wasn't stuck anymore.

Basically yesterday i sat down and animated essentially the second half of this movie. determined to finish this once and for all... It was hell... and by God am I thrilled to say it's complete.

Stylistically what I had in mind for this when I was animating was to try and give a western movie the old 1960's-1970's kung fu style of cinematography. with Westerns usually having a slow and tense pace. I decided to try and give it that in your face, zany sort of action.

*edit*As for story, it's not meant to be a citizen kane. in fact more than story I was mainly aiming at making a cool sequence. I say this because I've been getting a few people saying that it lacks story or that it's bad. there isn't meant to be a story so why rate or judge it based on lacking that. It's like saying citizen kane lacked explosive action. Just felt like throwing that out there.

Well. I don't care, it's done. I just gave birth to an overweight baby. Chicks can't give me shit about not knowing their pain.

Dim the light, I hope you enjoy.
-HVH

Special Thanks to Perry, he's the one who showed me the song and started it all. And Kevin Barrios (Buzzwerd) for bitching at me to finish this thing and standing me sending him every frame of updates.

Reviews


HanParkHanPark

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 4, 2009

Ahhh.. The Good Old WILD WILD WEST!!!

Mmmm... I like the Style indeed, the way you expressed the traditional feeling. the music was indeed part of the movie clip and it made me exited. Kane (The Main Character) was very unique, which I think is an important part of this movie( He is a Cripple Cowboy?! ) oh and the Reddish rising sun theme? I loved it. I really loved the fact that Kane had spare boots on the back of the horse we might have been a hint that he we'll need another one? I dunno I'm off topic here, great work, your effort have been totally worth it, and congratulations for becoming very best of the week!!! (oh and 3rd of all time.. wow)



SausauSausau

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 28, 2009

When you eat crispers, you might enjoy the fluids

I know your style. I mean, I know how it looks like. But every time I watch one of your movie, I must tell myself "damn, it really looks like zekey's one" even though Zekey has two distinguished styles, but you know what I'm talking about. And when I read the credits, the light appeared. And then I read the description. I never read descriptions before. Alright, let's moov hon.

I don't really likes this style anyway, when it ain't exploited right, it looks hideously stiff, more like polygones moving all around. This is how I felt at the beginning. All cubes and lines. But after the sheriff arrived, it went pretty well, and the animation made its proofs. What I like the most is the expression you succeed to put in the faces of the characters, they are always accurate. It's quite a feat considering the "polygonal" aspect of the whole.

Otherwise, it's a pleasant hommage to westerns. You built a coherent story within a few minutes. I personally adored The Good, The Bad And The Ugly, thus I go for a good western whenever there is one. Since you sweat for it...a good score.


People find this review helpful!
AlmightyHans responds:

i appreciate your honest and well written review. :D


SirKilicSirKilic

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 6, 2009

Very cool.

This was a very good film, had some good animations, great job on the music too, though repeated caught my attention.



SkoolCoolSkoolCool

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 29, 2009

A gringo like you maybe

Great vid. I tink sound effects kinda ruined some parts of it, tey were annoying. Plus, I liekd te song, made me lol.



NarusegawaNarusegawa

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 4, 2009

Great

I was positively surprised when I watched this. It's fun when animators take time to do something that's unique and hasn't already been 'taken on' many times before. Western-style Flash isn't something you see everyday!

What I like most about this is the style, theme and animation. A solid, complete and consistent story told with consistently good animation accompanied by a song that runs through the entire animation.

The only thing I didn't feel comfortable was the song. I felt that it didn't quite live up to the Western-theme and that there are probably better songs to have in this kind of Flash. This is despite the fact that the Flash is probably based on the song.

Overall, I must say that this is a great Flash animation, and that it should certainly serve as an example for other Flash animators when it comes to originality, animation and storytelling in Flash.

4/5 ~ 8/10
- Naru


People find this review helpful!
AlmightyHans responds:

I really appreciate reviews like these. constructive criticism. thank you so much for expressing your point of view so professionally. i truly appreciate an audience like yours.