Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 28, 2009 | 8:21 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice June 30, 2009
  • Review Crew Pick June 30, 2009
  • Daily Feature June 28, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

"Cripple Kane confronts the corrupt sheriff 'Blind-eye Bill' in an epic western showdown."

WATCH THE COOL CREDIT SEQUENCE AT THE END!

So. I started this in late April/early May of 2008. It all started when 'Decade Studios' Perry, a Newgrounds user friend of mine, sent me a song and said "This song reminded me of you". That Song was "A Gringo Like Me". Instantly I started animating the very beginning of this video, just as a fun little project. This fun little project expanded and expanded to turn into the ambitious monster that is this movie. All these ideas for the video came to mind. Make some sort of ultimate western extravaganza. Only problem is, I had always had trouble animating horses. That's what put this project on hold for so long. But thanks to ZekeySpaceyLizard, he jumped in and helped me with some horse legs on a front shot movieclip. That was basically the wall breaker and I wasn't stuck anymore.

Basically yesterday i sat down and animated essentially the second half of this movie. determined to finish this once and for all... It was hell... and by God am I thrilled to say it's complete.

Stylistically what I had in mind for this when I was animating was to try and give a western movie the old 1960's-1970's kung fu style of cinematography. with Westerns usually having a slow and tense pace. I decided to try and give it that in your face, zany sort of action.

*edit*As for story, it's not meant to be a citizen kane. in fact more than story I was mainly aiming at making a cool sequence. I say this because I've been getting a few people saying that it lacks story or that it's bad. there isn't meant to be a story so why rate or judge it based on lacking that. It's like saying citizen kane lacked explosive action. Just felt like throwing that out there.

Well. I don't care, it's done. I just gave birth to an overweight baby. Chicks can't give me shit about not knowing their pain.

Dim the light, I hope you enjoy.
-HVH

Special Thanks to Perry, he's the one who showed me the song and started it all. And Kevin Barrios (Buzzwerd) for bitching at me to finish this thing and standing me sending him every frame of updates.

Reviews


SeaERkaySeaERkay

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 2, 2009

Simply one of the best.

I hope you create more stuff like this. . .You chose a cool song, and have a great style. Keep it up :)



deathator17deathator17

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 3, 2010

like it but...

but the ugly music is annyoning me
but anyways like it and congrats to be a nominie!!
Keep
Up
The
Good
Work



LordCedrykLordCedryk

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 20, 2011

awesome!

hahaha!!...it was good! made me laugh!



watchfanaticwatchfanatic

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 21, 2009

Beautiful animation

Reminded me of samurai jack. Very fluid and well done. Great job.



Juggernaught666Juggernaught666

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 7, 2009

A good Fit

The song really encompassed the story, and the animation was nice fluid and fast paced. i've always loved the 'old' westerns and i think that this flash was really entertaining and a great homage to the source material!

keep up the good work!!!