Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 28, 2009 | 8:21 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice June 30, 2009
  • Review Crew Pick June 30, 2009
  • Daily Feature June 28, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

"Cripple Kane confronts the corrupt sheriff 'Blind-eye Bill' in an epic western showdown."

WATCH THE COOL CREDIT SEQUENCE AT THE END!

So. I started this in late April/early May of 2008. It all started when 'Decade Studios' Perry, a Newgrounds user friend of mine, sent me a song and said "This song reminded me of you". That Song was "A Gringo Like Me". Instantly I started animating the very beginning of this video, just as a fun little project. This fun little project expanded and expanded to turn into the ambitious monster that is this movie. All these ideas for the video came to mind. Make some sort of ultimate western extravaganza. Only problem is, I had always had trouble animating horses. That's what put this project on hold for so long. But thanks to ZekeySpaceyLizard, he jumped in and helped me with some horse legs on a front shot movieclip. That was basically the wall breaker and I wasn't stuck anymore.

Basically yesterday i sat down and animated essentially the second half of this movie. determined to finish this once and for all... It was hell... and by God am I thrilled to say it's complete.

Stylistically what I had in mind for this when I was animating was to try and give a western movie the old 1960's-1970's kung fu style of cinematography. with Westerns usually having a slow and tense pace. I decided to try and give it that in your face, zany sort of action.

*edit*As for story, it's not meant to be a citizen kane. in fact more than story I was mainly aiming at making a cool sequence. I say this because I've been getting a few people saying that it lacks story or that it's bad. there isn't meant to be a story so why rate or judge it based on lacking that. It's like saying citizen kane lacked explosive action. Just felt like throwing that out there.

Well. I don't care, it's done. I just gave birth to an overweight baby. Chicks can't give me shit about not knowing their pain.

Dim the light, I hope you enjoy.
-HVH

Special Thanks to Perry, he's the one who showed me the song and started it all. And Kevin Barrios (Buzzwerd) for bitching at me to finish this thing and standing me sending him every frame of updates.

Reviews


portorockportorock

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 2, 2009

its moving

i like the music and the fact that that cowboy didnt give a shit he kept his hand on his gun


People find this review helpful!

soldier148soldier148

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 2, 2009

love it

great style, great sound track, overall awesome. style does remind me of samurai jack, but i like the twist you put on it.


People find this review helpful!

Lord1MaulerLord1Mauler

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 2, 2009

Loving the music

God i love the music, i love watching westerns, and I love the technique you used to move the backgrounds-I've noticed how you moved the same texture, but made different shades-very cool.



CptlavanderCptlavander

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 2, 2009

groovy

i like it, especially the song, animation reminded me of samurai jack, props all around hans



clintcommanderclintcommander

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 2, 2009

An absolute delight!!!

This was terrific! Its so refreshing to see something that just oozes style. Animation very reminiscent of Samurai Jack, and the music reminded me of "The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly" soundtrack. Both winners in my book!

10/10
5/5
d(^o^)b Teh Fonz approves!