Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 28, 2009 | 8:21 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice June 30, 2009
  • Review Crew Pick June 30, 2009
  • Daily Feature June 28, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

"Cripple Kane confronts the corrupt sheriff 'Blind-eye Bill' in an epic western showdown."

WATCH THE COOL CREDIT SEQUENCE AT THE END!

So. I started this in late April/early May of 2008. It all started when 'Decade Studios' Perry, a Newgrounds user friend of mine, sent me a song and said "This song reminded me of you". That Song was "A Gringo Like Me". Instantly I started animating the very beginning of this video, just as a fun little project. This fun little project expanded and expanded to turn into the ambitious monster that is this movie. All these ideas for the video came to mind. Make some sort of ultimate western extravaganza. Only problem is, I had always had trouble animating horses. That's what put this project on hold for so long. But thanks to ZekeySpaceyLizard, he jumped in and helped me with some horse legs on a front shot movieclip. That was basically the wall breaker and I wasn't stuck anymore.

Basically yesterday i sat down and animated essentially the second half of this movie. determined to finish this once and for all... It was hell... and by God am I thrilled to say it's complete.

Stylistically what I had in mind for this when I was animating was to try and give a western movie the old 1960's-1970's kung fu style of cinematography. with Westerns usually having a slow and tense pace. I decided to try and give it that in your face, zany sort of action.

*edit*As for story, it's not meant to be a citizen kane. in fact more than story I was mainly aiming at making a cool sequence. I say this because I've been getting a few people saying that it lacks story or that it's bad. there isn't meant to be a story so why rate or judge it based on lacking that. It's like saying citizen kane lacked explosive action. Just felt like throwing that out there.

Well. I don't care, it's done. I just gave birth to an overweight baby. Chicks can't give me shit about not knowing their pain.

Dim the light, I hope you enjoy.
-HVH

Special Thanks to Perry, he's the one who showed me the song and started it all. And Kevin Barrios (Buzzwerd) for bitching at me to finish this thing and standing me sending him every frame of updates.

Reviews


TheRedRocksTheRedRocks

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 8, 2011

Awesome!

This was amazing! Good job! I love the song!


People find this review helpful!

psychicpebblepsychicpebble

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 31, 2010

Outstanding

I'm not sure why I didn't review this before, I could have sworn I did.

The artwork was phenomenal. The background were constantly gorgeous and interesting. The character design was also simplistic and complex, the no-line style is hard to pull of but Hans you've nailed it here. Perfect.

The music was also a nice touch, and as you said what inspired you to do this piece in the first place. Now, I've animated to music before (music videos) and it always looks okay. This is probably the most outstanding thing about this cartoon is that the music fits it perfectly. The style, plot, music, it all interlocked and flowed in perfect harmony.

The story was also really interesting and kept me watching. There wasn't a point where I had my head resting on my hands or I minimized it for something else. The store flowed perfectly well and in harmony with the music. When the music picked up, the story picked up, and vice versa.

The animation was also perfect for the style. A perfect blend between tweens and frame by frame. There wasn't ever a point where I thought "he should redo that scene" or I cringed. The entire thing was amazing to look at. You nailed proportions and facial expressions were superb.

In most of my reviews I leave a section at the end for improvement or things I disliked, but honesty, this was literally perfect. The reason I love this piece so much is because it excels in every department. Not only does it excel in audio, animation, art, story, entertainment factor, etc, it flows together.

I think that is what makes this movie so memorable, is that it's not only good work, but it works together in harmony. As I said earlier, when the music would pick up, the story and animation would pick up. Camera angles would shift, backgrounds would set the mood. Every aspect set up the mood and that's what makes this piece so amazing.

You probably won't read this review since I'm leaving it on such an old submission, but Hans, you've seriously outdone yourself.

"Outstanding" isn't giving this enough credit.


People find this review helpful!

BWLGeorgeBWLGeorge

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 8, 2010

Keep Your Hand On Your Gun

Excellent video. I love all of your work, and this is no exception. The animation was entertaining, with an original but inspired art style, the audio was clear and appealing (loved that Wilhelm scream), the song fit right into the video, and the story was just perfect as it was. It didn't need a multi-tiered plot to be a fantastic smooth Western with everything a Western needs. Keep up the great work.


People find this review helpful!

DaveyRobertsDaveyRoberts

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 26, 2010

Awesome!

I loved the music. It was really catchy and set the mood quite well. The art was well done, and the animation was smooth. All I ask is that you make more of Cripple Kane!


People find this review helpful!

mickandgregmickandgreg

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 6, 2010

NICE!!!

I've just submited two videos also about a GRINGO!!^^
you're movies is really great!!