Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 28, 2009 | 8:21 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice June 30, 2009
  • Review Crew Pick June 30, 2009
  • Daily Feature June 28, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

"Cripple Kane confronts the corrupt sheriff 'Blind-eye Bill' in an epic western showdown."

WATCH THE COOL CREDIT SEQUENCE AT THE END!

So. I started this in late April/early May of 2008. It all started when 'Decade Studios' Perry, a Newgrounds user friend of mine, sent me a song and said "This song reminded me of you". That Song was "A Gringo Like Me". Instantly I started animating the very beginning of this video, just as a fun little project. This fun little project expanded and expanded to turn into the ambitious monster that is this movie. All these ideas for the video came to mind. Make some sort of ultimate western extravaganza. Only problem is, I had always had trouble animating horses. That's what put this project on hold for so long. But thanks to ZekeySpaceyLizard, he jumped in and helped me with some horse legs on a front shot movieclip. That was basically the wall breaker and I wasn't stuck anymore.

Basically yesterday i sat down and animated essentially the second half of this movie. determined to finish this once and for all... It was hell... and by God am I thrilled to say it's complete.

Stylistically what I had in mind for this when I was animating was to try and give a western movie the old 1960's-1970's kung fu style of cinematography. with Westerns usually having a slow and tense pace. I decided to try and give it that in your face, zany sort of action.

*edit*As for story, it's not meant to be a citizen kane. in fact more than story I was mainly aiming at making a cool sequence. I say this because I've been getting a few people saying that it lacks story or that it's bad. there isn't meant to be a story so why rate or judge it based on lacking that. It's like saying citizen kane lacked explosive action. Just felt like throwing that out there.

Well. I don't care, it's done. I just gave birth to an overweight baby. Chicks can't give me shit about not knowing their pain.

Dim the light, I hope you enjoy.
-HVH

Special Thanks to Perry, he's the one who showed me the song and started it all. And Kevin Barrios (Buzzwerd) for bitching at me to finish this thing and standing me sending him every frame of updates.

Reviews


Patton3Patton3

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 17, 2012

One of My Favorites

It just has that Spaghetti Western sort of feel about it, and say what you will about those films, I'm just a sucker for them. The Wild Bunch, The Magnificent Seven, The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly, and so on.
Though really, I think it was the music that really brought it together; without it, it just wouldn't be as good as it is.



wereguy2wereguy2

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 31, 2011

Loved it.

This makes me want to watch The Good, The Bad And The Ugly again, and, in that sense, it succeeds entirely as a flash film. Well done!



BigZLOBigZLO

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 30, 2011

Hhm. What do ya think...

then you listen to that intro tune?
A Vestern. A good old one. But always EXTRAordinary, yeah?
Got one!



DemolitionDemonDemolitionDemon

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 21, 2011

Loved it!

Man, i love westerns, it was a pleasure to see this

Loved the Ennio Morricone soundtrack, it gives that feeling of a real hell hole
10/10



twistedwhispertwistedwhisper

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 3, 2011

AMAZING!!!!

This was lovely! Mate a serie, you do know that you can make a tv show for Cartooon Network, try it , send them this and then thank me :D