Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 28, 2009 | 8:21 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice June 30, 2009
  • Review Crew Pick June 30, 2009
  • Daily Feature June 28, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

"Cripple Kane confronts the corrupt sheriff 'Blind-eye Bill' in an epic western showdown."

WATCH THE COOL CREDIT SEQUENCE AT THE END!

So. I started this in late April/early May of 2008. It all started when 'Decade Studios' Perry, a Newgrounds user friend of mine, sent me a song and said "This song reminded me of you". That Song was "A Gringo Like Me". Instantly I started animating the very beginning of this video, just as a fun little project. This fun little project expanded and expanded to turn into the ambitious monster that is this movie. All these ideas for the video came to mind. Make some sort of ultimate western extravaganza. Only problem is, I had always had trouble animating horses. That's what put this project on hold for so long. But thanks to ZekeySpaceyLizard, he jumped in and helped me with some horse legs on a front shot movieclip. That was basically the wall breaker and I wasn't stuck anymore.

Basically yesterday i sat down and animated essentially the second half of this movie. determined to finish this once and for all... It was hell... and by God am I thrilled to say it's complete.

Stylistically what I had in mind for this when I was animating was to try and give a western movie the old 1960's-1970's kung fu style of cinematography. with Westerns usually having a slow and tense pace. I decided to try and give it that in your face, zany sort of action.

*edit*As for story, it's not meant to be a citizen kane. in fact more than story I was mainly aiming at making a cool sequence. I say this because I've been getting a few people saying that it lacks story or that it's bad. there isn't meant to be a story so why rate or judge it based on lacking that. It's like saying citizen kane lacked explosive action. Just felt like throwing that out there.

Well. I don't care, it's done. I just gave birth to an overweight baby. Chicks can't give me shit about not knowing their pain.

Dim the light, I hope you enjoy.
-HVH

Special Thanks to Perry, he's the one who showed me the song and started it all. And Kevin Barrios (Buzzwerd) for bitching at me to finish this thing and standing me sending him every frame of updates.

Reviews


FoxyPheonixFoxyPheonix

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 30, 2012

The music went perfectly with the animation. Very interesting from the beginning through out. Great work. XD


People find this review helpful!

NewEdenseriesNewEdenseries

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 18, 2012

Nice work! Love the stylised approach and the pace of it. Be great to see more of Cripple Kane. Any plans to bring him back?


People find this review helpful!

ForeverInfiniteForeverInfinite

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 8, 2012

This was one of the very first video I saw on this site. Since then, Ive always thought of this as one of greatest animated flash videos ever shown on Newgrounds. Good work, Hans, and lets hope you make more as awesome like this.


People find this review helpful!

ThisGermanGuyThisGermanGuy

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 27, 2012

Ennio Morricone ist just the most awesome filmmusikmaker of his time. really good atmosphere. And this vidio ist on of the coolest things I've sawn lately.


People find this review helpful!

theflamingskulltheflamingskull

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 16, 2012

what song did you use for the music i give 5/5 great work