Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 28, 2009 | 8:21 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice June 30, 2009
  • Review Crew Pick June 30, 2009
  • Daily Feature June 28, 2009

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

"Cripple Kane confronts the corrupt sheriff 'Blind-eye Bill' in an epic western showdown."

WATCH THE COOL CREDIT SEQUENCE AT THE END!

So. I started this in late April/early May of 2008. It all started when 'Decade Studios' Perry, a Newgrounds user friend of mine, sent me a song and said "This song reminded me of you". That Song was "A Gringo Like Me". Instantly I started animating the very beginning of this video, just as a fun little project. This fun little project expanded and expanded to turn into the ambitious monster that is this movie. All these ideas for the video came to mind. Make some sort of ultimate western extravaganza. Only problem is, I had always had trouble animating horses. That's what put this project on hold for so long. But thanks to ZekeySpaceyLizard, he jumped in and helped me with some horse legs on a front shot movieclip. That was basically the wall breaker and I wasn't stuck anymore.

Basically yesterday i sat down and animated essentially the second half of this movie. determined to finish this once and for all... It was hell... and by God am I thrilled to say it's complete.

Stylistically what I had in mind for this when I was animating was to try and give a western movie the old 1960's-1970's kung fu style of cinematography. with Westerns usually having a slow and tense pace. I decided to try and give it that in your face, zany sort of action.

*edit*As for story, it's not meant to be a citizen kane. in fact more than story I was mainly aiming at making a cool sequence. I say this because I've been getting a few people saying that it lacks story or that it's bad. there isn't meant to be a story so why rate or judge it based on lacking that. It's like saying citizen kane lacked explosive action. Just felt like throwing that out there.

Well. I don't care, it's done. I just gave birth to an overweight baby. Chicks can't give me shit about not knowing their pain.

Dim the light, I hope you enjoy.
-HVH

Special Thanks to Perry, he's the one who showed me the song and started it all. And Kevin Barrios (Buzzwerd) for bitching at me to finish this thing and standing me sending him every frame of updates.

Reviews


LuisLuis

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 28, 2009

refreshing

Not too many western related pieces on the site, this was pretty cool. The mixing of your sharp boxy style and the retro aspect of it work really well. I wouldnt have thought they would. The camera direction flows effortlessly from one scene to the next.
My only gripe is in the end where it feels like too many frames are devoted to a fade out. Maybe having the sunset finally turn into night would have been a nice conclusion. Great stuff. Beautiful typography. Particularly at the end with the double exposure on the scrolling text.


People find this review helpful!
AlmightyHans responds:

yeah i totally agree with you. a sunset would have wrapped it up all nicely.


molkmanmolkman

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 28, 2009

Kickass

This really captured all the things that are great about western movies. I really love your art style and Ennio Morricone music is always fantastic everytime you hear it.



LundsfrydLundsfryd

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 28, 2009

Great :D

Im a sucker for Sergio Leone-styleish stuff.. And this must be the best animated adaptation of the style I have ever seen. Good use of clich├ęs. Good choise of music (or pehaps good choice of pictures to go with the music)
I like the distorted effect at most places, but it bothers my eye a bit when the grains don't follow the objects. Other than that I don't have any crits. Thanks for makeing this :)


People find this review helpful!

rjgrahamrjgraham

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 28, 2009

Fabulous

Well worth the effort, HVH.



VasealVaseal

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 28, 2009

Great

This was fantastic. Great idea, great showing of all of them...great animation. Keep them coming!