Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 20, 2009 | 9:41 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature June 21, 2009
  • Weekly 4th Place June 23, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Mega Man
    Mega Man Playable Megaman RPG games, as well as tons of funny cartoons!

Author Comments

The long awaited next installment of the MMX: RPG series. Included in this chapter:

- A rebuilt engine from Chapter 0 means it's faster, prettier and best of all - 99% crash proof.
- Game too small? Change the resolution. Smallest 520x420 / Largest 720x580
- A large, detailed (albeit pixaled) world. If you hate sprite games, please move on.
- A well written, non-linear story with branching paths. Does not break established canon. Again, this is an RPG. If you don't like reading, I suggest you find something else that appeases your ADD.
- Game play time: 30 minutes to a couple of hours.
- Save and autosave features. Files transfer over.
- Multiple Battle Chips and over 120 unique techs.
- Character Specialization in the form of UPGRADES, for those who love talent trees. (And seriously, who doesn't?)
- Chip Synthesize. Mix two Battle Chips together to make unique ones!
- Shops to buy stuff and sell your loot.
- Boss Rush mode, for those of you who are a glutton for punishment. Seriously, they are HARD. You have to play smart. Can't just blast through them like you can the baddies.
- Hidden bosses.
- Achievements (only 11 in this chapter).

For a great walkthrough of this game, I highly suggest checking this out:
http://yrtnej.newgrounds.
com
- Thank you Yrtnej!

From the developer:
- I just want to thank everybody who commented and supported me on Chapter 0, for without your support, I never would have made Chapter 1. I really do hope you enjoy this; this game is for you. Also, I want to thank Tom/Newgrounds for extending my limit from 10 to 15 MB.

On a personal note, this will probably be the last chapter I can produce for a while. I haven't been able to find a job, so I've enlisted in the Army. (Which is shitty, since I already did it for 4 years). Unless some game developer wants to hire me within the next 30 or so days, I'll be in Fort Benning for OCS for at least a couple of months. Which makes me... gosh, so sad.

Patch Notes: (There are still several small bugs, but I'm constantly patching the game.)

* - Fixed the support glitch, which caused the game to freezes if you try and remove/select him.
* - Fixed the compare glitch when shopping for equipment.
*- Fixed a glitch in which you could steal high priced Gizmondo's from low-level enemies. Sorry guys - this exploitative loophole is being closed.
*- Along those same lines, Wind Shredder no longer does an insane amount of damage. It's effectively been nerfed.
*- Healing no longer charges your limit meter.
* - Fixed a small glitch with achievements and a massive amount of typos. Thank you Matthew!
* - Fixed several glitches in the simulation room. Should no longer freeze if attempting to view objectives. Course three should no longer reset when entering/exiting.
* - Fixed a glitch when fighting Guts Man G and the Yellow Devil. Should not freeze when they have their limit break.
* - The guard that explains battle tactics now also explains buffs, afflictions and shields. Also took care of the repeating glitch. Sorry!
* - Stuns are now temporary and should wear off quickly.
* - Poison now detracts 10% from a targets remaining HP instead of the total HP. Withdrawal, however, still uses the formula: (10% * Poison Stack) * Total HP = Total Damage.
* - Added a new boss. In simulation room 3, instead of Dynamo, you'll face...
* - Has anybody been able to defeat the hidden boss?

Reviews


F1KrazyF1Krazy

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 21, 2009

GLITCH!

I found a massive glitch at the start. When it comes up with your first objective, the character runs forward slightly, then the screen stops scrolling and the character is pulled backwards and off the edge of the screen, whilst still performing the 'running forwards' animation. This has happened twice so it's not just a one-off. Please fix this.

I'm giving the game a 9 because I know that once the glitch is fixed, it'll be an epic game.

Also, at the beginning, you wrote 'geting' instead of 'getting' ^^


ChamberACR responds:

This problem, unfortunately, only happens on some PC's and I'm not exactly sure why. Try using a different browser. Sometimes that fixes it.


GoreproductionsGoreproductions

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 21, 2009

pretty cool

great idea, the gameplay was nice but moving around with x was just a tiny bit sluggish and the sprite you used had this huge black outlining around it so hopefully in the next chapter that will be fixed. great game though!


ChamberACR responds:

You can actually turn that outline off. It's in the options under CELL SHADING (even thought it's not *technically* cell shading). Just disable it.


PianogodPianogod

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 21, 2009

You have improved....but still need more

It is a good game series, but if you want it to be on the top 50, then here are some improvements that you can do.

One: Voice acting. I know that you have it the way right now with the press space in order to process the next text, but adding voice acting would make the game sound more "professional" like it should be on a game console. It also gives the characters more attitude, and more emotion. You can still do the press space after the character has finished talking.

Two: Put a map button when you're at the base. I had a hard time, finding the Central room, or whatever it's called to get my next mission. Also it was like a giant puzzle, I thought I was lost for sure. So please put a map button, just for the base.

Three: Add some side quests. Side quests are a great for many things, mainly to level up your character, getting items, and after completing it....getting an award or some money. I know that you have the training simulator, but I won't be able to get money.

Last: If you want to make this game even more addicting.....add some NGs medals in here, like you were doing with the achievements. It will make players want to play the game again, and again just so they can get more points on their profile, just like the games on a PS3 and Xbox 360.

I hope that you will follow some of these advices, or none. But I think that these will make your next episode be put on the top 50 for a long time. I love the game, and I can't wait for the next episode. Keep up the awesome work.

P.S. If you're going to do voice acting, I'm always available. Just pm me for auditions, or that I get to play a role of a character. I don't care what character I play as like either X. Zero, Axl, or anyone else. As long as I get credited for the next episode, only if you want me to be in the next flash for voice acting.


People find this review helpful!
ChamberACR responds:

Thank you for the suggestions. However, I just want to mention a few things.

1.) Can't do voice acting. The game is already pushing 15 MB as it is and, honestly, between choosing more music or voice acting, I'm going to go with more music. Secondly... I don't know if you're aware of this, but I made this game BY MYSELF. I would LOVE to do voice acting, but I'm already animation, programming, scripting AND having sex with the gf when I'm not doing any of those. I only sleep 6 hours a day and code the other 18. You're asking a lot from one person.

2.) Map is a good idea. I'll try and include that next time.

3.) There ARE side quests. Not many, mind you, but there is a mission board with side quests. It's there for the exact reason you mentioned.

4.) Medals. I'll try and include them next time.

But seriously, thank you for the feedback and suggestions. I'll try and include as many as I possibly can next time.


greeneggs4spamgreeneggs4spam

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 21, 2009

Great

really great game so far, I do have one question though. Is our save file from chapter 0 supposed to transfer over? I thought that it was, but it doesn't for me.

Either way, great gameplay and great style. I haven't finished it yet, but I expect to soon; and most likely multiple times.

Sucks about the army though, I hope something works out for you. Also you should see if you can make the achievements into medals, with the newgrounds medal system. If nothing else it would make a lot more people play your game.


ChamberACR responds:

I actually don't know how the Newgrounds Medal system works. Shouldn't be too hard to incorporate. Maybe for the next chapter.

Oh, and to answer your question, save files from 0 DO NOT transfers. I know that's a bummer, but this code is radically different from its predecessor and converting save data would be a real headache. However, seeing how this code is much more stable, I won't be messing with it anymore and saves will transfer from this point on.

Thanks for the feedback!


HozamaHozama

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 21, 2009

Nicely done, but got a glitch

While on stage 1 of the Simulator, I got to the boss and used Infect on him. The poison from the tech killed him, and the battle froze. The music is still playing, but I can't do anything.


ChamberACR responds:

Hmm... I'll look into that. Thank you for the feedback.