Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 20, 2009 | 9:41 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature June 21, 2009
  • Weekly 4th Place June 23, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Mega Man
    Mega Man Playable Megaman RPG games, as well as tons of funny cartoons!

Author Comments

The long awaited next installment of the MMX: RPG series. Included in this chapter:

- A rebuilt engine from Chapter 0 means it's faster, prettier and best of all - 99% crash proof.
- Game too small? Change the resolution. Smallest 520x420 / Largest 720x580
- A large, detailed (albeit pixaled) world. If you hate sprite games, please move on.
- A well written, non-linear story with branching paths. Does not break established canon. Again, this is an RPG. If you don't like reading, I suggest you find something else that appeases your ADD.
- Game play time: 30 minutes to a couple of hours.
- Save and autosave features. Files transfer over.
- Multiple Battle Chips and over 120 unique techs.
- Character Specialization in the form of UPGRADES, for those who love talent trees. (And seriously, who doesn't?)
- Chip Synthesize. Mix two Battle Chips together to make unique ones!
- Shops to buy stuff and sell your loot.
- Boss Rush mode, for those of you who are a glutton for punishment. Seriously, they are HARD. You have to play smart. Can't just blast through them like you can the baddies.
- Hidden bosses.
- Achievements (only 11 in this chapter).

For a great walkthrough of this game, I highly suggest checking this out:
http://yrtnej.newgrounds.
com
- Thank you Yrtnej!

From the developer:
- I just want to thank everybody who commented and supported me on Chapter 0, for without your support, I never would have made Chapter 1. I really do hope you enjoy this; this game is for you. Also, I want to thank Tom/Newgrounds for extending my limit from 10 to 15 MB.

On a personal note, this will probably be the last chapter I can produce for a while. I haven't been able to find a job, so I've enlisted in the Army. (Which is shitty, since I already did it for 4 years). Unless some game developer wants to hire me within the next 30 or so days, I'll be in Fort Benning for OCS for at least a couple of months. Which makes me... gosh, so sad.

Patch Notes: (There are still several small bugs, but I'm constantly patching the game.)

* - Fixed the support glitch, which caused the game to freezes if you try and remove/select him.
* - Fixed the compare glitch when shopping for equipment.
*- Fixed a glitch in which you could steal high priced Gizmondo's from low-level enemies. Sorry guys - this exploitative loophole is being closed.
*- Along those same lines, Wind Shredder no longer does an insane amount of damage. It's effectively been nerfed.
*- Healing no longer charges your limit meter.
* - Fixed a small glitch with achievements and a massive amount of typos. Thank you Matthew!
* - Fixed several glitches in the simulation room. Should no longer freeze if attempting to view objectives. Course three should no longer reset when entering/exiting.
* - Fixed a glitch when fighting Guts Man G and the Yellow Devil. Should not freeze when they have their limit break.
* - The guard that explains battle tactics now also explains buffs, afflictions and shields. Also took care of the repeating glitch. Sorry!
* - Stuns are now temporary and should wear off quickly.
* - Poison now detracts 10% from a targets remaining HP instead of the total HP. Withdrawal, however, still uses the formula: (10% * Poison Stack) * Total HP = Total Damage.
* - Added a new boss. In simulation room 3, instead of Dynamo, you'll face...
* - Has anybody been able to defeat the hidden boss?

Reviews


Min0r69erMin0r69er

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 21, 2009

Random battles arrghh

Pretty good man, thoroughly enjoyed. It just seemed like there were so many random battles! I was getting some within five steps of another, other times I had one happen within two.


ChamberACR responds:

That's the trade-off for a faster engine.


flashmacflashmac

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 21, 2009

Really good

This is one of the best RPGs on the site. This, Sonny, and the Mardek RPGs are the best ones made from flash that I have played. This game is very professional looking, with the menus and the stylish cut scenes (though they can get a bit boring). The battle system is fantastic, but are the timed hits used in this one too? I couldn't really tell. The walking around is a bit sloppy and I did get lost in the center (a map would be nice) but besides those minor faults this is a very well made game and I can't even imagine how complex the coding for this is haha. Great work


People find this review helpful!
ChamberACR responds:

In short: very complex. The code is somewhere in the tens of thousands of lines... which is one of the reasons I have a lot of grammatical errors. Just so many lines of code.

But hey - thanks for comparing my stuff with the NG greats. That means a lot to me =D

No timed hits in this one. Instead, they were converted into UPGRADE specs.


00poop7x00poop7x

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 21, 2009

Oh, GOD, the grammar!

The repoloids have come too reclame what is they'res
And collect payment

The game would be totally awesome if it weren't for the endless grammatical errors. It seriously detracts from the story when there are serious problems with the sentences you read.


ChamberACR responds:

If that's the biggest fault you can find... well, that's not too bad.


Seta143Seta143

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 21, 2009

Awesome

Only problem is it froze on me during battle. I was wondering if you are planning on redoing a version of chapter zero so where can transfer the files in the future? Sorry to hear you're going back into the military, my contract just ended and i'm not going back to the navy or any branch for that matter ever. Good luck with that though. I also think i got an achievement glitch, i kept falling down cliffs and stuff looking for hidden bosses and it said i got the defeated dynamo achievement.


ChamberACR responds:

Can you describe the freeze? As for Chapter 0 data, I might redo it WAY later in the future. I don't know. I'm already pretty pressed for time as it is. But maybe.

As for the military thing... yeah, I said the same thing. 5 years ago.


reddeye5reddeye5

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 21, 2009

It just...

.....doesn't get any better than this,...great flash game man.