Be a Supporter!

Super Mario 63

Score:
rated 4.40 / 5 stars
Views:
5,705,012 Views
Share Links:
Genre:
Action - Platformer - Hop and Bop
Tags:
mario

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 10, 2009 | 10:09 PM EDT
  • Frontpaged June 12, 2009
  • Review Crew Pick June 16, 2009
  • Daily 2nd Place June 11, 2009
  • Weekly 3rd Place June 16, 2009

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Updated November 26th 2012:
The level designer has a few new additions, and is using the new portal. Check it out!

Updated July 23th 2009: Added a mode in the level designer that lets you play other people's levels and vote on them. Also fixed a few glitches.

Updated June 27th 2009: Fixed a few glitches (such as the slide in the basement, etc.) and added in a few more Level Designer Items, such as Level Transitions, Orange Block Switches, etc.

Super Mario 63 is a fan-game inspired by Nintendo's Super Mario 64. Many levels and features are based upon it and other of Nintendo's games, but a variety of them are completely original. Among them include a detailed storyline, ability to play as Luigi, a highly customizable Level Designer with sharable codes, three different FLUDD Power-ups, four different power-caps, and 64 Shine Sprites & 64 Star Coins to collect.

This is the final, complete version of this game. If you have seen this game anywhere else (except on SheezyArt) it probably was taken without permission AND it was the demo version. Only 2 websites have this version of the game.

Also, this game is, for the most part, a remake of the Super Mario Sunshine 64 I made in 2006. After we released the game and came back a few years later, we decided to redo the game with a better engine, more objectives, ect. and this is the product... I kind of went a little overboard, but whatever.

If, while playing, you hear random static noise, we apologize; it is a result of too many sounds being overlapped in flash player therefore overloading some of the less-than-perfect sound cards...

And also, please use the Level Designer. I personally feel that the Level Designer is the best feature.

Controls are explained in game, but we will summarize them here:
Arrow keys: Move around/ jump/ dive
Z : Talk/Ground Pound
X: Spin Attack
C: Use Fludd
Shift: Switch Fludds
P: Pause Game
- Zoom Out
+ Zoom In

If you are having trouble with the Z key, try pressing ALT + SHIFT to switch to the American layout.

Credits are in-game.

Last updated: June 27, 2009

Reviews


JJBuizeruJJBuizeru

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars

A great game

From the critic:
I think this is a very entertaining and real similar to the real game, Super Mario 64.
Though it is 2-D, The idea of using F.L.U.U.D. from Super Mario Sunshine was truly Genius. But, When I played on the second trap, it was one of the hardest levels. Can you take out a few enemies? ANd, suggestions are, you can try to make a level where Mario turns 3-D. Where a real hard level appears.
BEst Regards,
Jay Jay (JJBuizeru)



BalltonBallton

Rated 5 / 5 stars

nic nice like sugar and spice

i playeed some months ago but now im starting over and see if i get and further startingfrom scratch



Luigi153Luigi153

Rated 5 / 5 stars

awesome

This game is just great...especially the fact you get to play as Luigi!!!



WarningKWarningK

Rated 5 / 5 stars

Wonderful Gameplay!

Super Mario 63 is truly a fan-made classic, I'm a huge Mario fan so I've played a lot of Mario remakes, spin-offs etc. but I can't confidently say this has got to be in at least the Top 3 of the hundreds that I have played.

The games itself is like the original Super Mario 64 on Nintendo 64, the gameplay is long and take several hours to finish, it is made almost like an exact replica of Super Mario 64 except in 2-D, the stages however have a complete different look than to the original but still keeps the basic outline.

The addition of the FLUDD and the ability to collect Star Coins and do Spin Jumps add to the fun of the game but however with these new abilities comes a lot of new glitches and bugs.

For example, The FLUDD has way too much water in it, you can practically fly through the whole level with only a few steps of ground time.

The enemies (goombas, bomb-omb etc.) are pathetic they're like ants, when you spin even remotely close to them, they fly off. And if you have the FLUDD they fly off as soon as you come near them.

Also the triple jump has a few problems, you can do a double jump, walk for about 2 seconds and still continue the last jump. Which makes reaching high spots unbelievably easy.

There are also an abundance of coins, logically speaking there are way, way, way too many coin making seeing the 'Game Over' screen almost impossible. A single course can have almost 400 coins, with 1-ups being awarded at every hundred. And only in the first part of the first level you can already gain at least 80.

Anyway enough of the negative stuff, this game has a wonderful blend of recreation and imagination, the controls are dodgy but simple. The graphics are cute 'Mario and Luigi' Graphics and have great variety, the large selection of Yoshi Island sprites are smart and brings back nostalgic memories of the SNES. The sounds are clear and are exactly the same as the original Super Mario 64. The camera zooms are fit to perfection, and when Mario has stood still for too long time he falls asleep just like in Super Mario 64. The combination of Super Mario Sunshine and Super Mario 64 is difficult, but Runouw has accomplished it with flying colours.


People find this review helpful!

igetboredproductionsigetboredproductions

Rated 5 / 5 stars

amazing game

this is like something nintendo would make for gba

response to lewisboy317: to get luigi you have to collect 32 star coins and go on the 2nd door to the right of lvl maker