Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 6, 2009 | 3:38 AM EDT
  • Daily 3rd Place June 6, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

First Blood 10 Points Kill your first enemy.
Game Over 10 Points Let history take its course.
Having a Blast 10 Points Launch your first mortar strike.
Movie Fan 10 Points Don't skip any of the in-game cutscenes.
Pacifist 10 Points Die without killing a single enemy.
Cannon Fodder 25 Points Kill 100 footsoldiers.
Collateral 25 Points Take out least 5 enemies with one explosion.
FLAK Expert 25 Points Shoot down 6 enemy airplanes.
Panzerschreck 25 Points Destroy 6 tanks.
Getting the Hang of it 50 Points Stay alive for 50 hours.
Hang in There 50 Points Regain your health after nearly dying.
Massacre 50 Points Destroy 500 enemies.
Get Out More 100 Points Survive for 250 hours.
Master Tactician 100 Points Chain 4 explosions.

Author Comments

*Now with medals!*
*Thanks a million for the frontpage! This has been a dream of mine since I joined NG 4 years ago*
*Also, at this rate I can't comment on every review, I do read all of them though and every bit of feedback is appreciated!*

D-Day: June 6, 1944, 6:30 am. 160,000 allied infantry troops are approaching the coasts of Normandy to conduct the largest amphibious landing in history. There you are, a lone soldier in a turret. How long can you hold them off?

Note: D-Day Defender is not beatable. History will have its course, and the Allied Invasion will succeed. But how long will you endure?

INSTRUCTIONS
Controls:
- Mouse to aim and shoot by clicking.
- "A" to reload
- "S" to use 'engineer powerups', and;
- "D" to launch a mortar strike (when it's ready).
- "P" to pause the game
- "M" to mute.

Pro-Tips:
- Fire at groups of enemies for better efficiency.
- Vehicles explode, time those well so you take out a couple of soldiers as well.
- Gun overheated? Reload while you wait!

Major thanks to the following guys for beta-testing this game: Deadclever23, liaaaam, Saza, and other people I've forgotten (sorry). Even bigger thanks to Zuggz for decompiling my swf after I lost al my files in a crash. Decompilers are quite useful after all, so are back-ups.
Also props to FatKidWitAJetPak for writing the cutscenes!

Reviews


donatas081294donatas081294

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 31, 2011

Epic game

SO FUCKING ADDICTIVE!!!
Great work =3



ChriswilkoChriswilko

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 30, 2011

Fun

More realistic than the abomination that is Call of Duty.


People find this review helpful!

Etheral117Etheral117

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 30, 2011

Touching

I remember watching a program about D-Day, viewed from both sides. One part of it centered on a single German gunner, reciting the letter he had planned to write home that day as he held his ground against the Allied invasion. I can't help but remember this every time I play this game. He fought on, until the end, but I do not know what happened to him. I cannot help but remember, that just because they wore the swastika on their arms did not make them all evil. Many were just like the Allied troops, young boys drafted to fight a war they didn't really want, eagerly awaiting that next letter from home while trying not to forget to write themselves. Fighting on in the belief that the cause they were fighting for was good and just, for how could the common infantryman know what was really happening behind the charade?

I'm sitting here now, listening to the epilogue song, thinking back, picturing every war movie or CG television program about WWII, seeing scenes like the German gunner reciting his letter as he tried to hold off the tide of men, or an American in a burning tank-destroyer desperately holding off a German counter-attack with the mounted machine-gun until reinforcements can arrive, or a Russian in Stalingrad lamenting the loss of his friends after the day's fighting before lighting a cigarette, and I hear this song playing behind all of them.

This, in reality, is a very simple game, but the shear food for thought it presents once you have finally been beaten just causes a truly sad feeling. For some reason I can imagine an American officer breaking into the back of the bunker and pulling the young gunner out just before the explosion tears the bunker apart.

Here's to a happy Memorial Day, and say some prayers for me. My best friend got out of US Army basic training a month ago, and he is on his way back to duty right now. He's not being deployed oversees, but that doesn't mean I can't pray for both his safety and the safety of all of our soldiers, sailors, marines, and airmen, deployed or not.

And with one final "Thank You" to Xeptic and friends for this game, I bid you goodnight.


People find this review helpful!

IssylIssyl

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 25, 2011

I loved the game as much as the outro music

Defense games are good, such as this one.
And this one is a historical event too.
It's concept is like no other, because this time, you're not one of those soldiers trying to eliminate the bunkers as you land ashore.


People find this review helpful!

NapmeztliNapmeztli

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 23, 2011

in some way good

not so good but makes me feel sad about the wars around the world and all the pain that their cause...sad very sad


People find this review helpful!