Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 5, 2009 | 3:58 PM EDT
  • Daily 3rd Place June 6, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

UPDATES:
-Small update added (2010-01-21), adding a few bug fixes and gameplay tweaks. For instance, you can now drop enemies that you have picked up by pressing the down key.
-If you fall through the level and die after clearing a stage, you could try lowering the quality and/or turning off the camera effects in the options menu.
-It appears we should point out that ALL THE BOSSES ARE IN FACT BEATABLE. Each has a certain pattern that needs to discovered, that's all. If it doesn't always make perfect sense, sue us :)
-Finishing all 19 levels unlocks the Barbarian Stronghold survival level, where you must hold off the hordes for as long as you can.
-Again, thanks for the great reviews, frontpage and collection!

BARBARIAN ONSLAUGHT: THE SECRET OF STEEL
A young barbarian sets out on a quest to find the legendary Secret of Steel...

This sequel took nearly a year(!) to finish and contains more enemies, 19 levels, boss fights, complex combat and physics engines, geographical puzzle solving, an epic musical score and an intriguing storyline.

To all the fans who supported this game, big thanks! We really got a kick out of the reception the demo got. And many thanks to hzlancer for his masterpiece of a soundtrack.

Reviews


weloth2323weloth2323

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 27, 2009

fantastic !!!!!!!

Very realistic and fun, this game is very cool

a good game for those who like to crush, behead and kill monsters


People find this review helpful!

Urunberkay12Urunberkay12

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 16, 2009

The game is in the my favourite

Hey everyone this game is cool. Please all Newgrounds.com members come and play!!!


People find this review helpful!

Darker69Darker69

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 5, 2010

Fantastic!!!!

Fun and simply


People find this review helpful!

Werdnaman1993Werdnaman1993

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 10, 2009

mt dam

--to beat the boss you need to jump on his club after he swings it down and attack his head in midair when he swings back up--
Also, great game!


People find this review helpful!

ZblaydeZblayde

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 19, 2009

A near-perfect game.

Barbarian Onslaught: Secret of Steel may be lacking story, but with everything else being SO GOOD, you forgive that little roadbump. Not being a fan of button-mashers, I really doubted this game at first. I mean, just pressing the spacebar over and over again sounds like you just wanted to make the world's worst game ever, but it soon becomes clear that you made a kind of game that everyone praises: simple to get into, but takes forever to master. The various interactions you can have with enemies and the environment set this game apart from any other. Even when surrounded on all sides, the situation is not hopeless, being able to exploit what the enemies are doing to your advantage and kill everyone with little damage to yourself, and a lot of style. I cannot count how many times I have gotten into a conflict, won, and used the power to kill the guy right behind him. The bosses are all unique, each requiring a different strategy to kill, and the enemies are varied just enough to not make the game repetitive or confusing. Music and artistic design are both excellent, and the small affects in the game, such as the shaking camera zooming in, and flashes of lightning in the background, all help the overall atmosphere of the game. The map is also very well put together, reminding me of the old maps in the Mario games, which I had always loved. However, there are a few changes I would think everyone would appreciate. First, more weapons built into the environment (throwing an enemy into a cactus, or the sharp branch of a tree perhaps), second, something that would rate your combos (a system seen in the Devil May Cry series or The House of the Dead: Overkill would work well), third, extra weapons, a shield, and leveling up (which would give the game even more depth, and allow a steeper difficulty curve), fourth, more finishing moves (I recommend playing Gears of War and Manhunt for inspiration), fifth, the ability to calibrate the spacebar settings (the game would sometimes mistake a light attack as a heavy attack) and sixth, being in the Fighting Games collection here at NG (because this game should be more available for everyone to experience). Great job, I am looking forward to a sequel. Also, you should try to make this a downloadable game for consoles, I mean, if ***ing Castle Crashers made it, this game would be a shoe-in.


People find this review helpful!