Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 5, 2009 | 3:58 PM EDT
  • Daily 3rd Place June 6, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

UPDATES:
-Small update added (2010-01-21), adding a few bug fixes and gameplay tweaks. For instance, you can now drop enemies that you have picked up by pressing the down key.
-If you fall through the level and die after clearing a stage, you could try lowering the quality and/or turning off the camera effects in the options menu.
-It appears we should point out that ALL THE BOSSES ARE IN FACT BEATABLE. Each has a certain pattern that needs to discovered, that's all. If it doesn't always make perfect sense, sue us :)
-Finishing all 19 levels unlocks the Barbarian Stronghold survival level, where you must hold off the hordes for as long as you can.
-Again, thanks for the great reviews, frontpage and collection!

BARBARIAN ONSLAUGHT: THE SECRET OF STEEL
A young barbarian sets out on a quest to find the legendary Secret of Steel...

This sequel took nearly a year(!) to finish and contains more enemies, 19 levels, boss fights, complex combat and physics engines, geographical puzzle solving, an epic musical score and an intriguing storyline.

To all the fans who supported this game, big thanks! We really got a kick out of the reception the demo got. And many thanks to hzlancer for his masterpiece of a soundtrack.

Reviews


SulfiteSulfite

Rated 3 / 5 stars June 5, 2009

Castle Cras... No way on Earth,

I actually felt at first glance a castle crashers feel to it, but no.
The game really was potential, but putting only the space to attack and interact wasn't a good idea, try and use more buttons.
The movement was heavy too! i felt like my dude was going to fall every time I jumped through a abyss or something.
It is a shame, the art, sound and map where very well done.
Well, there is aways a second time.


People find this review helpful!

silencekyosilencekyo

Rated 3 / 5 stars June 10, 2009

wtf?

whats with the controls? All on one button? That freakin stinks! But the other part of the game was good though, its just the controls that really gets me...



MythRealMythReal

Rated 3 / 5 stars June 8, 2009

It was okay

Nothing fancy



Lord-KalvoLord-Kalvo

Rated 3 / 5 stars June 21, 2009

Seriously lacking.

This is a beautiful game... it works perfectly, and I didn't experience any bugs. The animation, and music are flawless... Unfortunately it's not really fun. It's super repetitive, and lacking true depth. Sure there was alot of stuff you *could* do, but they mostly stemmed from how long you're pressing spacebar... and really I got through all of the stages just by running thru and tapping spacebar madly, making all the other moves kind of... unnecessary.... not fun. Also, I saw no point to the "rage" aspect... what was the difference between "Ragefully" slaying enemies... and ("calmly?" lol) slaying them?

Anyway, this game is VERY well made aesthetically, and I even appreciate the attempt at "depth" from the complex set of moves/effects... like I said, the game works PERFECTLY, I just feel like the actual gameplay, and maybe even the controls could use some revamping. For instance, if there's no requirement to use certain moves/features... what's the point in using them? Good gameplay will incorporate scenarios that require players to utilize all of the character's skills at various points in the game, testing how well they've mastered them. In this game, you can just kind of mash your way through stages with just the quick combos. thats NOT solid gameplay. Since this genre has been done a billion times... it's super important to ensure that game play is solid. You don't want your players getting bored of it after the first few stages.

Anyway, I think that the skills shown here for making a good game is worth a good score. The entertainment factor keeps me from giving it a GREAT score. My final opinion is that this is a very beautiful, well made, though unchallenging game, lacking in solid game-play, and entertainment.

Keep it up man, you've got MAD flash skills.


People find this review helpful!

DASWDASW

Rated 3 / 5 stars June 11, 2009

GRAPHIC

I USUALLY LIKE DESTRUCTION BUT WITHMORE EXPLOSIONS