Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 5, 2009 | 3:58 PM EDT
  • Daily 3rd Place June 6, 2009

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

UPDATES:
-Small update added (2010-01-21), adding a few bug fixes and gameplay tweaks. For instance, you can now drop enemies that you have picked up by pressing the down key.
-If you fall through the level and die after clearing a stage, you could try lowering the quality and/or turning off the camera effects in the options menu.
-It appears we should point out that ALL THE BOSSES ARE IN FACT BEATABLE. Each has a certain pattern that needs to discovered, that's all. If it doesn't always make perfect sense, sue us :)
-Finishing all 19 levels unlocks the Barbarian Stronghold survival level, where you must hold off the hordes for as long as you can.
-Again, thanks for the great reviews, frontpage and collection!

BARBARIAN ONSLAUGHT: THE SECRET OF STEEL
A young barbarian sets out on a quest to find the legendary Secret of Steel...

This sequel took nearly a year(!) to finish and contains more enemies, 19 levels, boss fights, complex combat and physics engines, geographical puzzle solving, an epic musical score and an intriguing storyline.

To all the fans who supported this game, big thanks! We really got a kick out of the reception the demo got. And many thanks to hzlancer for his masterpiece of a soundtrack.

Reviews


sweatycrisissweatycrisis

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars April 24, 2011

BO: The Secret of Steel

okay. this game looks epic. is it? hmm. lets see. your a large barbarian. looking for the secret of steel. already a story. the controls? left right jump and space bar. your only attack is space bar. kind of simply but also lame. theres no creativity with attacks. you get a finishing move but still. BO is a fun game. bosses are quite easy besides the final boss. 7/10 4/5.


People find this review helpful!

DrunkMonkeyzDrunkMonkeyz

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars June 11, 2009

I'm not finishing the game...

This game is so bull in so many ways. It's absolutely fun at times to play and its spacebar-style playing is very simplistic and deserves great appraise, but the hordes are absolutely annoying. Near the end (at least I think it was...the game itself was a lot longer than I first thought) at the "Gorge of Death," the hordes were absolutely intolerable. Seriously, there isn't enough health or enough witty tactics that's going to get me through the damn level without dying before I get to the boss (and trust me I developed a great number of strategies to deal with those pricks).

Also the bosses are absolutely dreadful. Some should have been reordered whiles others don't even make sense as to why they would be there (although they're all random due to an undeveloped storyline, still...where the hell did the princess with the huge axe come from? Shouldn't there have been a dragon at the mountain location instead?). Not only that, but the order of difficulty in the monsters is messed up. The princess was such a cinch to kill along with the old witch lady with purple fire (which pissed me off btw; her purple fire was menacing to touch and her god damn bombs always STUNNED me in it), but the tentacle boss was so damn frustrating! It was so hard to predict how many strikes it took to kill a tentacle and the shitty part of it was that you had to be faster than the damn things (and that was nearly impossible).

Other than my annoying rant, it's definitely a great game (deserves 8 or 9..maybe 10 stars but I just couldn't handle the hordes anymore). I'm no important person but I never indulged myself in such a long review...I just thought that my input would contribute to the hundreds to help make for a better game, or improve an already great game that is; all games tend to have their...exigencies.



xalem2xalem2

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars August 2, 2012

this is really glitchy not a single pit insight And I teleport to one right over it unable to move.
or when I finish kill a enemy I randomly die



NEXUS2012NEXUS2012

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars November 5, 2012

Fuuuuuuck the level after zoggot is too hard



confish7confish7

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars June 8, 2009

Fun but too hard.

Too long for just space bar smashing.