Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 3, 2009 | 6:17 AM EDT
  • Daily 3rd Place June 4, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Raider: Episode 1 is the first in a series of five platformers, consisting of a single level each. The levels are long, however.

This game is designed to be reminiscent of 'old-school' games which those of us old enough to remember playing them as children might find nostalgic.
It is designed to be CHALLENGING. Only the best players will be able to achieve the fabled S ranking for their performance. Can you?!/

Controls are specified in the game. They can also be customised from the How to Play screen.

PLEASE try Beginner mode if you're not great at platformers or if you find the other difficulties to hard and frustrating. It removes many of the most irritating aspects of the higher difficulties. Please do not complain that the game is too hard if you haven't even tried Easy mode.

NOTE: It seems that playing this in Internet Explorer results in some strange input-related problems, where the keys seem to 'stick' or something. You shouldn't really be using IE anyway; it's a notoriously bad browser.

Reviews


JoePro462JoePro462

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 4, 2009

Very nice.

Not only was I impressed by it being so fun and challenging but I was pleasently suprised that there is now a bit of a story going on. This seems as though it's going to be one of those nice games that not only rewards the player through gameplay but through episodic revelations of an interesting story. It's refreshing to see a game character with actual CHARACTER, aswell. Also, I have to mention how thoroughly badass the music is. I find it amazing how much of an atmosphere you've managed to make. It is, indeed, a very nostalgic, well made and interesting game. I'll be happily waiting to see what happens to our 'hero', Arkus Zei next!

5/5


People find this review helpful!

SurbrusSurbrus

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 17, 2009

Job well done!

That was a great game. Does the nostalgia thing very well.

The challenging part of the game really was like an old school game. Where I usually find some "difficult" flash games to be constintly trying to bore me the death, the difficulty in this game was exactly like it was for me back on the NES and co. (a difficult part just made me come back over and over again until I got it). The in game commentary from the main character was very funny as well.

It is rather funny to see the comments left by those that were not raised on the NES and SNES, lol. This game does not get finished just because you had a good attendance record. I love how you have to work for it, I feel like I am repeating myself, but it does feel so much like those old school games... when you finally beat it, you feel a great sense of accomplishment... for what it's worth :P

Just to let you know, I only log in to leave a comment of a submission if I think it is REALLY good. Last time I logged in to leave a comment was probably much more than a year ago. I can't wait to see your next submission! Keep up the good work!


People find this review helpful!
Pseudolonewolf responds:

Comments like this mean a lot to me! Thank you!


DazmiDazmi

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 19, 2009

Perfect platformer

This is a great platformer game.
The sprites were done wonderfully, the story is good and it's mildly humorous, the level design is challenging and it looks nice, and the music fits in with the pixel-style graphics.

The only thing I hate, are the people who compare this to other platforming games such as Megaman, and Mario. Then again... any classic platforming game is compared to that.


People find this review helpful!

JimarasJimaras

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 13, 2009

GOOD

I LIKE THIS GAME!!



spuddybuddyspuddybuddy

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 3, 2009

Awesome!

Just a great game plain and simple, Im really looking forward for the rest of them, hurry up and finish them! :D