Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 1, 2009 | 6:38 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature May 2, 2009
  • Weekly 3rd Place May 6, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Beholder 10 Points Slay the tentacle beast.
Defender 10 Points Slay the sentinel.
King Slime 10 Points Slay the giant slime.
Mecha 10 Points Slay the giant robot.
Regice 10 Points Slay the Pokemanz.
Goku 50 Points Slay your undead god.
Warrior 50 Points Beat the game on Normal difficulty.
Hero 100 Points Beat the game on Epic difficulty.
Knight 100 Points Beat the game on Hard difficulty.
Art Guy Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Credits Guy Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Chaos Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Fail Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Owned Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Punching Bag Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Terrorist Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
I Like Swords Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Pervert Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Make sure to go play the 2nd game as well!

Reviews


FlashiaFlashia

Rated 3 / 5 stars August 29, 2009

Bare Role-Playing Genes

I've played this game a few times, and I must admit, I had some fun playing this game. I thought I wouldn't like it since it was too "generic", but alas, I was somewhat wrong.

I've gotta mention the gameplay here, since story isn't a major part. This would've been a BIG no-no for an RPG, but our favorite mouse has proven us wrong. But still, a little story would've been very nice. Anyway, you basically attack/heal, wait, then attack again. This can get repetitve fast (I know that all other games has repetivitness; when reviewers say "repetitive", they mean how much fun is taken away from the repetitiveness, mind you), I mean REALLY fast, so 1 point taken off for that. The medals were nice (and in one case hilarious), which by the way was one of the few reasons I hung on.

This game is too....basic? It has most of the core elements of an RPG, with the exception of leveling up in some way shape or form, which was a surprise. But there isn't any mechanic that's too outstanding? Alright, the higher powered Players/Emenies/Spells can be one, since too many rpgs have you placed on low-level (1-10 dmg per...you know). But in this one, you start off STRONG (3000-10000 dmg minimum), at the cost of leveling mechanics.

I was going to take off 3 points for the basic genes, but one aspect lowered it to two: While most had some sort of difficulty curve, whether it be good or bad, this one was near-perfect! Seriously, the curve here is one of the best I've ever seen. There is only one spot before the final boss that was a bit spiked (god forbid those stupid Regis).

Music choice wasn't too fitting, and in some cases, espeically the 2nd stage, VERY embarrasing. I actually had to mute the 2nd stage music, and as cool as all the music choices was, with the exception of some bosses, they were quite out of place, taking off one point for embarrsement.

Is there ONE 100% good part of EBF? Yes, yes there is. And it almost more than made up for all the flaws: The graphics. They are REALLY pretty to look at; even on low, they still look outstanding. Mecha and Undead Goku in particular made me think whether or not you were human in terms of artisic skills. Maybe you should post a tutorial on how to make such great graphics? Speaking of which, the recreation of the non-original emenies were great. By the way, the thing controlling Undead Goku is Duskull, not Cubone.

Overall, this shows the bare foundation of what a RPG battle system should be. Well, maybe it isn't, since it can use some stuff to make it WAY more interesting, but hopefully you'll improve (which you will) on the sequel. It's not the best, but it isn't too too too bad.

I give Epic Battle Fantasy a Six out of Ten. Just a little more would've earned you a Bronze Medal.


People find this review helpful!
matt-likes-swords responds:

Thank ye.


OvergreaseOvergrease

Rated 3 / 5 stars October 17, 2009

Its too hard for me on easy

I can't get past the cannon on wheels in the 4th level



ondaonda

Rated 3 / 5 stars May 23, 2009

Effort: 10 Product: 3

First of all, your super powerful right at the start, which sucks. You should make an xp system, or eaven something like a new power after each level. Second, theres absolutely no point, it's just randomly beating up random stuff, theres no progress. Third, it just seems like a batle system test, with amazing graphics, theres nothing more than the fighting.

Good points:
Graphics are awsome and done well, the part that is sort of good, works really well.
Ps: I know a shit load of people are gonna say this is a useless review because they really like the game, and they just vote - because they dont agree with me. To those people I say: FUCK OFF!



Maxus800Maxus800

Rated 3 / 5 stars June 16, 2013

awesome game, also the secuels, now, SOMEONE CAN TELL ME THE NAME OF FINAL BOSS SONG!!!!!



kujagarland2kujagarland2

Rated 3 / 5 stars May 4, 2009

i really liked it .......

but i got right to the end and died and there aint no checkpoint? ! pissed me off