Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 1, 2009 | 12:14 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place May 2, 2009

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

This was the student film for my 2nd Year Animation Class at the School of Visual Arts. Our assignment was to design, produce and animate a fully complete film at least two minutes in length. The production for this cartoon began at the start of the school year in September 2008 and finished several weeks ago. The concept was simply, "So, there was this one time...when a bat, a rhino, a ferret and an old man all got together and played a card game."

Thanks very much to my voice cast and co-writers that made this film what it was in the first place...and thanks to Celia Bullwinkle, Mike Ruocco and everyone in my Animation Workshop that helped support and give feedback while the cartoon was being worked on. Enjoy the show :]

Reviews


megasnake55megasnake55

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 24, 2009

Yatze...

GReat video,but I feel like watching Teamfourstar on youtube now



LimbooLimboo

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 23, 2009

ROFL

"But we just lost the game"
"Jengaaaa"



RedHydraRedHydra

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 23, 2009

lol

"I summon my king in attack mode with a plus 7 club, yahtzee."
ahh, the cast of team four star, what hilarity, love there work



final-fantasy-guyfinal-fantasy-guy

Rated 2 / 5 stars May 23, 2009

The concept is arbitarily aloof.

Sure, the concept of a ferret, a rhino, a bat, and an old man interacting in some way is "different" and potentially comical, but this combination, simply for the sake of itself, isn't interesting.

You could argue that we're supposed to be taken in by each of the characters' individual personalities, but they're all very underdeveloped and archetypal.

You could argue that archetypes/stock characters (the small, spunky one, the aristocrat with a humbling disposition, the big, dim one, the crazy, old man) can be used to great effect with a script that manages to drive a point with them. This is not the case, in this film. This is a random series of events with unintersting characters meandering about in it, trying desperately to find humor in obscured facets of pop-culture (card games) and the obvious (but...YOU'RE BLIND). The entrapment deal at the end did nothing to evoke a sense of drama or irony that would make a tasteful person either gasp or laugh.

The animation wasn't a spectacle, but it certainly wasn't terrible. I would say that it was, at the very least, par, for a student project. The backdrop and envirnomental objects were painfully rudimentary. The character design was very bland, though I understand that simpler designs are easier to animate. I would say that there was a moderate balance between animation quality and character design. I would suggest spending more time on visual concepts, regardless. You can never practice or learn too much.



AMVPAMVP

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 22, 2009

Yayz!

It was surprising enough to learn that Chris had another account, but hearing Lanipator and Takahata 101 provide the dialog was truly thrilling. The humor is well paced, the animation as smooth as we've come to expect. A fantastic film.


People find this review helpful!