Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 30, 2009 | 3:54 PM EDT

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

I wasn't originally planning to make more than one of these Game & Watch conversions, but due to the resoundingly positive feedback I got for my last project (Game & Watch: Dodgeman), as well as multiple requests to "make more!" I decided to do just that! :)

This time, I modelled it after the classic G&W game, Vermin (I had a specific request for that one), but instead of the original hammers and moles, this version has Blades of Chaos and minotaurs!

Game above, instructions below.. enjoy!

P.S. Happy Birthday/Pico Day Tom! If I'd had more foresight, I would've made a Game & Watch: Pico.. well who knows, maybe I still will! ;)

-------------------------
MAY 1, 2009: w00t! Front page!!! Thanks Tom! :)

MAY 3, 2009: Glitch was found by commenter (5th minotaur never generates) and has been corrected, new version is live! This also removes the ability to cheat by holding down the left and right arrow keys.

MAY 4, 2009: Glitch where game would sometimes freeze when first starting and only left button be clickable has been eliminated.
-------------------------

OVERVIEW:

The goal of the game is to stop the attacking minotaurs from crossing the line. To do this, you have to line up your blades with their heads (watch the demo/clock screen for examples). Kratos attacks automatically. If 3 get by it's game over, so watch out!

You accumulate one point every time you cut down a minotaur.

CONTROLS:

From the demo/clock screen, click either the "Game A" or "Game B" to start a game! Game A is for novices, while Game B provides more of a challenge to seasoned players.

The "Sound" button will toggle the sound on/off. This can only be done from the demo/clock screen, and is indicated by a speaker icon which appears beside the time display. If the speaker is on, the sound is on.

If you have already racked up some scores from previous sessions, you can press the "Submit Scores" button to send your scores to our online hiscore lists. (You'll have to enter your name and then click the big Submit button at the bottom of this screen.) These lists can be viewed by clicking the "View Scores" button. Don't worry, the hiscore pages will open in new browser windows/tabs, one for Game A and one for Game B.

Note: You can view your current hiscores on the demo/clock screen, they will rotate between your Game A hiscore and your Game B hiscore every 2 seconds.

In game, press left/right to move Kratos (you can use the on-screen buttons or the left and right arrow keys on your keyboard). Clicking the "Time" button will take you back to the demo/clock screen.

As a bonus, if you hit the "Video" button from the demo/clock screen, you can watch a teaser trailer for a certain upcoming game! ;)

SPECIAL THANKS:
- Walz Music - If you like the music in the video, check out the composer's site for more:
http://www.walzmusic.com and his midi compositions at http://www.midishack.net
- hitm4n, for hosting this on his fantastic site, Handheld Remakes! (http://handheld.remakes.
org)
- You, for playing! :)

Reviews


UberToastMan666UberToastMan666

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 4, 2009

cute

i've been waiting for something like this. lol. game and watch wasnt rly my favorite games, but God Of War IS....im just....its so cool to see idea liek this. again, this is rly cute. do some more? like....upgrade to another console.


Holmfry responds:

haha, I'm glad you like it! Thanks buddy! :)


bluntmonkeybluntmonkey

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 4, 2009

old school is'nt for children

i saw some reviews all about how old and boring this is or what ever but this reminds of game and watch games i used play like narc and animaniacs cuz my mommy was to lame to get me one of those big clunky gameboys. any ways it got really intence in the game and i had no idea you could use the keys at first so i clicked on the left right buttons =p i cursed at your game to hell and was about to blam it. but now i see the fast pace reflex of it all i'd like to say great job and fuck those little kids who say old school sucks. only thing though is some upgrades later on would be great. 420 for life and strife


Holmfry responds:

Thanks for the great review man! :)


bkmcflurriesrockbkmcflurriesrock

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 4, 2009

The problem is:

People's attention spans. I've read the reviews and I felt the same way...AT FIRST. I was just about to exit out when it started getting really fast and you had to plan your movements in advance, not unlike DDR or Guitar Hero, really. This little animations were pretty hilarious, overall this is a great G&W clone. I would love to see this same mechanic, but maybe with a total animation/art overhaul with powerups and stuff. Who knows?

Bottom line: Give it some time people, and always remember on Newgrounds, just because you don't LIKE a game doesn't make it bad :D


Holmfry responds:

Thanks for the awesome review! :)

I love your idea of upgrading it.. a sort of modernized old school approach, kind of like the Game & Watch collection for Gameboy - very cool. I might just have to do that some day.


FUBARgamingFreakKiddFUBARgamingFreakKidd

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 4, 2009

Retro s Back

I Loved it. It s addicting and fun. Mr.G&W had some great game s, i liked the g.o.w theme too.
Just noticed it got harder over night. Now i see theres a fith minatour. I have to work even harder now.
Cant wait for bit o war.


Holmfry responds:

Thanks for the great review man! :)

Yah, I had to fix the game last night, the 5th minotaur not appearing was actually a glitch and without that minotaur, people could cheat pretty easily so I took care of that as soon as I noticed it.

Thanks for playing and enjoying! :)


smooth117smooth117

Rated 2 / 5 stars May 4, 2009

same as the other guy b4 me i can only press left

and screen doesnt move just stays frozen... any suggestions?


Holmfry responds:

As I said with the guy before you, this is a known issue I'm looking into.

Reload the game, wait until the load bar finishes and "Play" displays completely before you press it and you should be good to go. If you press Play too quickly (i.e. before the little load bar animation is complete), it hangs for some reason.