Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 21, 2009 | 3:42 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice April 22, 2009
  • Daily Feature April 22, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

The Tape 10 Points Retrieve the tape from Felicity.
Black Magic 25 Points Defeat Clemons first time without using team mates. Challenging or Heroic difficulty.
Pacifist 50 Points Defeat Hydra first time without dealing over 2000 damage during fight. Challenging or Heroic difficulty.
Predator 50 Points Defeat Captain Hunt without any training fights and without repeating any defeated bosses. Heroic difficulty.
Over the Ashes 100 Points Defeat the Corruptor in Zone 7.

Author Comments

Sonny 2 is a combat based RPG where you play as a Zombie, level up and gain items to advance to the next Zone.

***

Hello World,

Sonny 2 is finally here on Newgrounds! Sorry for the long wait, but we really had to make sure that the major glitches and bugs would be fixed before it's published. This version also has two additional Zones more than the original Sonny 2 release! Here's what the game contains:

- 5 Story Zones.
- 3 UNIQUE Character classes.
- 3 Difficulty game modes.
- Fully voiced dialogues and cutscenes.
- Improved AI!
- A Local PvP Mode.
- 2 Bonus "Boss" Zones.
- Loads of new items, characters, and spells.

I hope you have as much fun playing this as you did the first one! If you thought that the original Sonny was easy, then I recommend you start this game on either Challenging or Heroic mode :)

Enjoy!

PS: "Legend" unlocks Zone 7. GL HF.

Reviews


MrWraith999MrWraith999

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 3, 2010

Aint really played

I played through about 3 quarters of Sonny and then lost my data so i thought i would try this out but it would be nice to know the story line of the game because it carrys on from sonny so i shall play after completing sonny



gadogrygadogry

Rated 4 / 5 stars April 24, 2009

Expectation preceeds satisfaction

Hence the "low" score.

I have actually already beaten this game on ArmourGames before it came to Newgrounds, so the novelty had worn off. The only thing new is the achievements and they to me are kind of lame.

Also, the "All-Star" achievement requires you to beat the game on Heroic with all 3 classes... which is a problem here because one of the classes aren't available on the NG version. I don't know if you did that to sneak under the 10MB requirement of NG or just to advertise ArmourGames.

And I HATE the time limit of each round on Heroic. To read the description of the effects of your enemies had just put on themselves or you, plus set your teammates AI accordingly, plus choose your action... it's just not enough time. More importantly, one of the things i enjoyed about Sonny 1 was just thinking through things. Heroic on Sonny 2 totally took that away.

And the AI still needs work. A few times I was dying and put Veradux all the way to the left, only to see him randomly attack some guy instead of healing me. He did have focus and did not use healing in the last couple rounds.

And most of the abilities are pretty useless. My fav class is Psychological, and all I really need was 2 Free Will, 2 Electric Storm, and 3 Shock Therapy and 1 Terrify. That would get you through the whole game.

And the plot is sort of lacking. And what's with our teammates from Zone 4 in Sonny 1? Are they just not in the plot?

Yeah... it started out to be a good game. I think you've added too much to it that now it's not that good.


People find this review helpful!

atla18atla18

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 14, 2009

So after a full day of playing this..

... I've decided this game gets 8 out of 10.

It seems like almost every problem from the last game was fixed. The bad AI of your allies could be properly adjusted in game, with a simple enough interface to ensure that they did what you wanted them to (if used properly).
I don't know whyn so many people are complaining about the psychological class. I'm on the 5th zone with it and it's all the combos and set up. You need to really build certain spell combos (nightmare followed up by shock therapy to stop the health from returning, Free Will Followed by Dark Infusion to restore health and focus)

I didn't play the ArmorGames class, but I can only assume its some sort of in between of the two classes?
The interface was mostly the same from Sonny 1, and at this point I think my only complaint was the amount of items i found WAY before I could use them.
That, and the lack of real need to continously invest my ability points. I have the 8 spells I constantly use maxed out and really don't know what to do with any further points (though I am teching up to Wraith Form, which I didnt realize was there).

All in all, good game at this point. I've yet to see aynthing game breaking through the entire thing. Some fights are obscenely tedious, as previously stated, but as of yet none of them are impossible.
If, in the future, less enemy characters could have these ridiculously high HP and HP restore spells? Of all things that damned roach in level 4 took me eons, simply because it restored so much health every turn. I've never used a simple spell like "Haunt" so much as on him, or the Police Colonel, even.


People find this review helpful!

bbbomberbbbomber

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 5, 2009

Decent with need for improvement

Its a good game however I feel like the cards are immediately stacked against the player, it's very easy to fail. AI is very unreliable, maybe add some way to keep the control of the team in the player's hand, the teammate that was added would keep attacking the opposite target as me. Maybe add an accuracy stat to ensure spells will hit their target, I'll die more often than not from a spell not hitting its target and debuffing the opponent from giving a fatal blow next turn. Overall its a decent game, seems like a lot of work went into the making of it. Just next time make room for error a smidge less likely; It will keep the player interested and not completely frustrated from the encounter being completely out of their hands. Keep up the great work!



RevolutoRevoluto

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 14, 2010

Good game!

Best RPG on Newgrounds in my modest opinion.

SUGGESTION: The music gets annoying after a while. Maybe implementing volume?? Thanx !