Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 21, 2009 | 3:42 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice April 22, 2009
  • Daily Feature April 22, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

The Tape 10 Points Retrieve the tape from Felicity.
Black Magic 25 Points Defeat Clemons first time without using team mates. Challenging or Heroic difficulty.
Pacifist 50 Points Defeat Hydra first time without dealing over 2000 damage during fight. Challenging or Heroic difficulty.
Predator 50 Points Defeat Captain Hunt without any training fights and without repeating any defeated bosses. Heroic difficulty.
Over the Ashes 100 Points Defeat the Corruptor in Zone 7.

Author Comments

Sonny 2 is a combat based RPG where you play as a Zombie, level up and gain items to advance to the next Zone.

***

Hello World,

Sonny 2 is finally here on Newgrounds! Sorry for the long wait, but we really had to make sure that the major glitches and bugs would be fixed before it's published. This version also has two additional Zones more than the original Sonny 2 release! Here's what the game contains:

- 5 Story Zones.
- 3 UNIQUE Character classes.
- 3 Difficulty game modes.
- Fully voiced dialogues and cutscenes.
- Improved AI!
- A Local PvP Mode.
- 2 Bonus "Boss" Zones.
- Loads of new items, characters, and spells.

I hope you have as much fun playing this as you did the first one! If you thought that the original Sonny was easy, then I recommend you start this game on either Challenging or Heroic mode :)

Enjoy!

PS: "Legend" unlocks Zone 7. GL HF.

Reviews


SaraveldaSaravelda

Rated 4 / 5 stars April 23, 2009

As wonderful as expected.

The first game was incredible, but this one has taken the original up more than a few notches. The gameplay itself is entertaining and never really seems to get old, no matter how long you play. The system you have created (and nearly perfected) for the levels and such is genius, and perfect for the type of game this is. I would not change a thing about it, except to make it even bigger with the addition of more games like it.
The AI is quite well-refined as well, and makes the gameplay extremely fun. My only complaint about it is that the commands given don't really seem to have too much influence unless it's a request for healing. But, this is a VERY minor issue that even most games for actual consoles struggle with.
The graphics are great, as expected. I wasn't able to spot even a single glitch in the entire game. The extra little accessories that were ust for kicks cracked me up. They were a great way to make it even more fun and released a lot of tension for me.
There is only one major gap in this game: plot. the game setup is beautiful, but the cutscenes and storyline really lack a lot. It starts out fairly strong in the beginning, but then quickly ebbs out so that it's nothing more, really, than going from place to place beating up enemies. If there were a few cutscenes, even if they're just narratives, it would spice the whole thing up and motivate the players a lot more. I loved it when I went into battle and the characters would make observations and such, but this alone doesn't really provide the character development that your audience craves. To make this game perfect, I would recommend having a set storyline (or script if you like) to base the game off of. This will let you plant surprises and excitement in the game and keep us on our toes throughout the game. Basically, all you need is more plot.
All in all, this is a truly amazing and original series of games. I eagerly await your next one and hope for something even better than this! Thank you for such an incredible RPG!
8/10, but 5/5. This needs to be at the top of newgrounds.


People find this review helpful!

dragonace555dragonace555

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 23, 2009

great game

i played it and beat it 100%. my only problem was that, unlike the first game, there was no secret dongeon after you beat the game and kept playing



FroFro

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 22, 2009

Much fun.

~ Animation/Graphics ~

Pretty decent graphics all around. Nothing really mind blowing, but not bad at all. Pretty good all around and animation is very smooth. Good choice of colors and I don't think I would change much from what you have already.

~ Story/Content ~

The great thing about this is that it does follow a simple story line, which slightly keeps me interested in the game, but the humor adds a lot of fun to the game. Simple things that the characters say, simple titles of attacks or spells, name of enemies, etc.. Some good fun stuff in there all around.

The only thing that I think I have to complain about the game itself is that it get's quite repetitive after awhile. The same basic battle system and everything. I do like that you had the choice of different zombies because that helps a little bit, but I wouldn't mind seeing the game play itself change up now and then so it's not so repetitive.

I haven't tested out the person on person mode, but my roommate has and he said it was alright. I'll check it out here soon, but this would be really fun if you could play the story line in two player or even more online or connected by lan. (If it is like this and I haven't noticed sorry, but I still think it would be a great idea)

Some other things that I think would help this game be better would be the ability to upgrade your weapons for a cost of money of course. That or the more you used your weapon the more experience you get. You could think about doing this with the armor and other things also. This isn't necessary, but it would be kind of neat to have.

I personally like not being able to control your partners. It almost gives it a more of a realistic feeling. It might be interesting if you allow people to choose whether they can can control the party or have the party control themselves. Hopefully something like that wouldn't make the game worst as people would have the choice of the style they liked.

Lastly, I think the directions might be a little hard to understand for people who have never played this game before or if people who aren't too great at figuring things out on their own because of the way the partner attacks before you do in the beginning of the game and it can just be confusing all around. Not to me, but I have seen some reviews that were complaining about it.

~ Audio ~

Great sound effects, great background music, and really good voice acting all around in this submission. Those voice actors getting payed? ;P

I really don't think you could improve on the audio any more than you already have done in this submission.

~ Overall ~

A great game, that may get a little repetitive after awhile, but nevertheless a great game for people to play who enjoy leveling up and a good funny story line. Good job. :) Added to my favorites.


People find this review helpful!

SypherrSypherr

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 22, 2009

ANOTHER PERFECT!!

i am so excited to play this sequal. i have been looking foreward to it ever since i finished the first one. Well Done!!!



metadrake9metadrake9

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 22, 2009

Much better then the last one!

The last one was to long, I had to train for far too long, and I always had problems getting all of my skills. but when I played Hydraulic... I didn't have to spend as much time training and even more was spent on actually progressing though the story! I love how each lass has in individual tree, and overall it's much better then I expected. I HOPE THIS GETS INTO THE BEST OF ALL TIME!!!


People find this review helpful!