Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 21, 2009 | 3:42 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice April 22, 2009
  • Daily Feature April 22, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

The Tape 10 Points Retrieve the tape from Felicity.
Black Magic 25 Points Defeat Clemons first time without using team mates. Challenging or Heroic difficulty.
Pacifist 50 Points Defeat Hydra first time without dealing over 2000 damage during fight. Challenging or Heroic difficulty.
Predator 50 Points Defeat Captain Hunt without any training fights and without repeating any defeated bosses. Heroic difficulty.
Over the Ashes 100 Points Defeat the Corruptor in Zone 7.

Author Comments

Sonny 2 is a combat based RPG where you play as a Zombie, level up and gain items to advance to the next Zone.

***

Hello World,

Sonny 2 is finally here on Newgrounds! Sorry for the long wait, but we really had to make sure that the major glitches and bugs would be fixed before it's published. This version also has two additional Zones more than the original Sonny 2 release! Here's what the game contains:

- 5 Story Zones.
- 3 UNIQUE Character classes.
- 3 Difficulty game modes.
- Fully voiced dialogues and cutscenes.
- Improved AI!
- A Local PvP Mode.
- 2 Bonus "Boss" Zones.
- Loads of new items, characters, and spells.

I hope you have as much fun playing this as you did the first one! If you thought that the original Sonny was easy, then I recommend you start this game on either Challenging or Heroic mode :)

Enjoy!

PS: "Legend" unlocks Zone 7. GL HF.

Reviews


gnome42gnome42

Rated 3 / 5 stars April 22, 2009

Eh..

This game wasn't that great. It's EXTREMELY repetitive, and I wonder why almost nobody else has acknowledged that.

I mean, the original Sonny was good, it had an interesting story: you wake up as a zombie, you're in extreme danger, a blind old guy helps you, he dies, you go out and seek revenge, you meet another zombie ally, and you fight together to destroy the ZHCP and find out the secret of the tape.

In this one: your story picks up where you last left off. You and the other zombie are fighting, you get weak, 2 zones later you kill the zombie king, everyone's happy.

Sure I'm not going fully into the story (if it can be called one), but the game was awfully repetitive and boring, and I couldn't bear to play any farther.

3 classes, great. They're all similar, except that they have different skill descriptions and different status effects. It was a weak attempt at making the game interesting, sorry.

As for the gameplay, it was exactly like Sonny 1. You click one circle to shop, one circle to train, and one circle to do real battle. In the battle, you choose different circles to attack: place 5 of your strongest move in your skill menu, and a couple status effects. Repeatedly click available circles. Move onto the next zone.

The "story", if it can be called one, was mainly "Oh, no! An enemy official! Kill him!" It didn't really go far beyond that. Some cutscenes (unrelated to the main "story") would have been nice, to make it more like a movie than a repetitive mouse-clicking game.

The most annoying part, for me, was that I trained for 10 rounds before each battle just so I could get on par level-wise and equipment-wise. It was all unnecessary anyway, since I couldn't even force myself to finish the game.

The "Improved AI!" and "Fully voiced dialogues and cutscenes." really don't add to the game. It's like decorating a garbage can with glitter and paper streamers and presenting it to some company (sorry for the awful analogy, but it's the least offensive one that comes to mind). I mean, in this case, the "company" is mostly 8-12 year olds whose small minds can't understand the concept of a decent story or gameplay, but only see the amazing graphics and the fast-paced action and killing.

Of course, I don't mean to completely bash your game, it's really great, and I couldn't hope to make something like this, but the low score and long essay of the faults were just to get another point of view in here, I guess. Most other reviews are just blindly complimenting your game making skills, saying how much they love this game, how it's the greatest game ever, etc.

If you decide to make a Sonny 3, please consider this review. It probably wouldn't be worth your time, since 95% of people who played this game enjoyed it, and it's no use spending months extra to satisfy that other 5%, you wouldn't earn much more money or self-accomplishment, really.

Anyway, thanks for reading this, and I'm sorry if it was just a waste of your time.


Lots of people find this review helpful!
Krinn responds:

It's not really possible to please 100%, but I'd be damned not to try :) A lot of people are asking for Sonny 3 now, and at first I thought I should do Sonny 3 the way I've done Sonny 1 and Sonny 2.

But then it occurred to me that what people THINK they want might be different to what they actually want...


thenewovermindthenewovermind

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 22, 2009

Great!

Haven't finished the game yet, but at the last place. Great game all around, I've spent hours playing it. I also found it amusing how strong the hydraulic class can be when only using strength moves. You can completely skip increasing your instinct, increasing the other stats even further, and you do so much more damage than your allies. It's a very good game, I just took the easy route that didn't require much strategy.


People find this review helpful!

juju0320juju0320

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 22, 2009

Better than the original and frankie is funny

im about 2 beat the game and il love killing the Zombie Pest Control Incorporation(zpci)



Dark-orchestraDark-orchestra

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 22, 2009

You fail to impress me...

But that, of course, is because at this point, to impress me you would have to make a shitty flash. I would be impressed it you possessed the ability to make a terrible flash.
See, my logic goes like this:
There are people who can crank out flashes that are mediocre at best. When they release something incredible,it is very impressive. That is because they had never done so before. In comparison to other work, it show an IMPRESSIVE amount of effort.

You, however, appear to shit flash gold. I believe you would have to put an IMPRESSIVE amount of effort in to make something sub-par.

So, you don't impress me one bit.
Keep it that way...



Tojo29Tojo29

Rated 4 / 5 stars April 22, 2009

Getting better all the time

I loved the original Sonny, and was stoked to see the second one finally out. Great new features including the type of zombie, etc. Shame it didn't have a stage like the original where you could edit all your team, buy great equipment, etc. Can't wait for the next one.