Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 19, 2009 | 12:19 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place April 20, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

UPDATE 04/21/2009: Update Boss and Elf Warrior.

Developer's Note:

After several months of development, polishing and exchanging ideas with many great players, reviewers and sponsors, we are finally able to release The Great Siege on Newgrounds.

The game features a great combination of impressive defense gameplay, sharp graphics, competitive balance and immersive theme music. The building system in the game pays tribute to Heroes of Might and Magic III, one of my personal favorite, while the battle system includes elements such as the catapult, tank transformation, and traps that make the gameplay more dynamic without being overwhelmingly complex. The Great Siege is generally a very simple game but it has a subtle depth of strategy that embraces many possibilities.

it was my great pleasure to work with Selcuk and his group on the original music score for The Great Siege. The amount of time they've put into the works and the creative energy and inspiration they brought into this game through their music are incredible. Every music track is not only perfectly fitting to the game's theme, but also elevates the atmosphere of the game to another level.

Above all, I really hope you guys will enjoy this game.

Let's keep PLAYING and keep in touch.
-------------------------
Game Description:
Friends and comrades, my brothers! The Dark Lord has sent his minions upon our city to end the last surviving bonds of humanity. We cannot let our city fall into the wrath of darkness and watch our home fade into another shadow of abyss. Brothers of humanity! Let's load up our cannons, fire up our catapult, and let us march through the gates and send those filthy devils besieging our home back to where they belong!!
-------------------------
Instructions:

Hot Keys:
City Mode:
[M] Market
[B] Building

Battle Mode:
[A]Build Army Panel
[S]Send Army Button
[D] Command Army Panel

Fire Catapult:
*Mouse: Click-and-Drag at the head of Catapult to adjust target, release mouse to fire.
*Keyboard: Use arrow keys UP + DOWN to adjust catapult target, SPACE BAR to fire

Dig a Trap (Foot Soldier only Ability)
Click on the Foot Soldier in order to make it digging a trap. The trap will take a while to finish, so make sure you have people cover up for him.

Tank Regular/Tower form
Click on the Tank to transform it into a Tower.
Click on it again to turn it back to Regular form.

Resources Conversion:
In the Market, you can convert your Bonus Points into different resources.

Upgrade and Level-Up
Most buildings and weapons in this game can be upgraded. Foot Soldier and Elite Guard can also be leveled up to become stronger units.

Reviews


BrickTownBudBrickTownBud

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 2, 2009

hahaha addicting game :-P

I enjoyed this game 3 times... lol on the 3rd time I got to the end.. lol
It was very fun and I was excited to see what my upgrades would look like each time I achieved them.. lol

thanks manG ! good fun.



RobotRob01RobotRob01

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 1, 2009

Awesome Game

This game is incredibly fun! I have some ideas that would make it a 10 game to me:

1) Allow the assignment of number keys to groups of troops. I can't count on two hands the times I got thoroughly pissed off at the auto-send key for sending in my most vulnerable troops first. I think instead of alleviating this problem by fixing the auto-send, you could just give players the option to group troops together for maximum strategy.

2) The battering rams should not auto-destroy the siege tank in its tank form. I understand the rationale behind decimating the tower, but I cannot reason why one tank should outright destroy another tank, since they are both mobile units. I understand that this may seem to cause a balancing problem, but games of this sort are all about micromanaging. This would serve to add another level of micro to the tank.

3) Ability to trade resources for other resources in the market. I know that players can de facto already do this, since in its final level markets can convert materials into bonus points, however it kinda sucks to have to deal with the rigidity that this entails. Perhaps allowing players to trade for resources outside of multiples of ten would also accomplish ease of trade. Either way, trading is a bit hassle prone as it stands.

4) Have an easy mode. I think an easy mode would entail more fights in between boss battles (to build resources), which would in turn allow for maximization of upgrades before a certain progression point. Or perhaps allow players to re-enter previous battles at reduced bonus, so one is not stuck one any given fight because of his previous, unfixable decisions.

Just some thoughts. Again, great game. Really addictive!


People find this review helpful!

eyvraeyvra

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 30, 2009

skre3w the story this roqs!!!!!!!!!!!

look at pac man! who needs a story, dont get me wrong, im an rpg guy myself, but storyline is nothing in an arcade fighting game, or classics like pac man or galaga. this is badass!!!



ElTexinatorElTexinator

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 30, 2009

Very interesting, but lacking a cohesive story

A fantastic defensive strategy game. Can't really complain about the catapult and the resource gathering and the army managing. However, I'd like to point out something that would make it a perfect game: a more detailed story.

I feel like the whole thing is lacking congruence. Sure, you have the attacks, the evil Sauron-esque villain, etc., etc.,, but the people the player controls feel too much like cannon fodder. They have no culture, no mannerisms, and the "religion" is not very well explained.

But believe me, besides the story, the game was absolutely solid.

Truly,
El Texinator


People find this review helpful!
ttback responds:

I am drafting a better storyline for the sequel of the game. Back then I didn't intend this game to be a RPG from start, so I didn't consider too much about story but rather spent much time on balance and strategy.


laughingboy2laughingboy2

Rated 4 / 5 stars April 30, 2009

nice game

Killed much o time, had to rethink my strategy several times to even get close to the last level.