Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 19, 2009 | 12:19 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place April 20, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

UPDATE 04/21/2009: Update Boss and Elf Warrior.

Developer's Note:

After several months of development, polishing and exchanging ideas with many great players, reviewers and sponsors, we are finally able to release The Great Siege on Newgrounds.

The game features a great combination of impressive defense gameplay, sharp graphics, competitive balance and immersive theme music. The building system in the game pays tribute to Heroes of Might and Magic III, one of my personal favorite, while the battle system includes elements such as the catapult, tank transformation, and traps that make the gameplay more dynamic without being overwhelmingly complex. The Great Siege is generally a very simple game but it has a subtle depth of strategy that embraces many possibilities.

it was my great pleasure to work with Selcuk and his group on the original music score for The Great Siege. The amount of time they've put into the works and the creative energy and inspiration they brought into this game through their music are incredible. Every music track is not only perfectly fitting to the game's theme, but also elevates the atmosphere of the game to another level.

Above all, I really hope you guys will enjoy this game.

Let's keep PLAYING and keep in touch.
-------------------------
Game Description:
Friends and comrades, my brothers! The Dark Lord has sent his minions upon our city to end the last surviving bonds of humanity. We cannot let our city fall into the wrath of darkness and watch our home fade into another shadow of abyss. Brothers of humanity! Let's load up our cannons, fire up our catapult, and let us march through the gates and send those filthy devils besieging our home back to where they belong!!
-------------------------
Instructions:

Hot Keys:
City Mode:
[M] Market
[B] Building

Battle Mode:
[A]Build Army Panel
[S]Send Army Button
[D] Command Army Panel

Fire Catapult:
*Mouse: Click-and-Drag at the head of Catapult to adjust target, release mouse to fire.
*Keyboard: Use arrow keys UP + DOWN to adjust catapult target, SPACE BAR to fire

Dig a Trap (Foot Soldier only Ability)
Click on the Foot Soldier in order to make it digging a trap. The trap will take a while to finish, so make sure you have people cover up for him.

Tank Regular/Tower form
Click on the Tank to transform it into a Tower.
Click on it again to turn it back to Regular form.

Resources Conversion:
In the Market, you can convert your Bonus Points into different resources.

Upgrade and Level-Up
Most buildings and weapons in this game can be upgraded. Foot Soldier and Elite Guard can also be leveled up to become stronger units.

Reviews


FlashFan2000FlashFan2000

Rated 2 / 5 stars December 25, 2009

What's a turn?

The only time I gained money was from accidentally going into battle with just a palace, mine, and farm built. There are some many things in this game that are unclear even in the tutorials. My hat is off to those who figured it out. I got seriously bored 10 minutes into the game and my resources didn't go up for squat.

Plus there's no retreat? Not impressed at all with this game.



seth2013seth2013

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 10, 2009

...

boner



Zizka417Zizka417

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 24, 2009

Too linear

There was only one way to win. I'm sure that everyone here used the 10 stack in order to win, and it seemed as if that was the only way. It lost fun points for that. Another thing I noticed is the load time on the catapult. Maybe it was just me, but the load time seemed to get longer as you upgraded the catapult instead of shorter, as the game claimed. The city building also seemed to have one path to take, and if you faltered from it, you'd find yourself with a game over.

Other than that, it was a new look to the defense games. Although I'm not sure what the point of the map was. I enjoyed it, but gameplay was too linear.


People find this review helpful!

derpdragonderpdragon

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 19, 2009

Rather slow paced

I like pretty much everything about this game, all except the slow pace that things went even the menus where rather slow. But besides that it was a great game.
The art and animation was good, nothing to outstanding but still good.
The game play though slow was still good and engaging.
I liked how the upgrade system went, but I think that having to buy new soldiers each round was a little to harsh.
The waves of enemies where in a good moderation too, nothing to hard but still kept a challenge. The bosses however where a bit over powered, but it didn't really bother me too much.
Overall it's a great game to play for some good tactical game play.


People find this review helpful!

HazzyDizzyHazzyDizzy

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 10, 2009

nice and kind of addictive

it's a great game.the only things it would need are making it easier 2 get resources and gold and maybe a storyline,but beside that it is a cool game.