Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 19, 2009 | 12:19 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place April 20, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

UPDATE 04/21/2009: Update Boss and Elf Warrior.

Developer's Note:

After several months of development, polishing and exchanging ideas with many great players, reviewers and sponsors, we are finally able to release The Great Siege on Newgrounds.

The game features a great combination of impressive defense gameplay, sharp graphics, competitive balance and immersive theme music. The building system in the game pays tribute to Heroes of Might and Magic III, one of my personal favorite, while the battle system includes elements such as the catapult, tank transformation, and traps that make the gameplay more dynamic without being overwhelmingly complex. The Great Siege is generally a very simple game but it has a subtle depth of strategy that embraces many possibilities.

it was my great pleasure to work with Selcuk and his group on the original music score for The Great Siege. The amount of time they've put into the works and the creative energy and inspiration they brought into this game through their music are incredible. Every music track is not only perfectly fitting to the game's theme, but also elevates the atmosphere of the game to another level.

Above all, I really hope you guys will enjoy this game.

Let's keep PLAYING and keep in touch.
-------------------------
Game Description:
Friends and comrades, my brothers! The Dark Lord has sent his minions upon our city to end the last surviving bonds of humanity. We cannot let our city fall into the wrath of darkness and watch our home fade into another shadow of abyss. Brothers of humanity! Let's load up our cannons, fire up our catapult, and let us march through the gates and send those filthy devils besieging our home back to where they belong!!
-------------------------
Instructions:

Hot Keys:
City Mode:
[M] Market
[B] Building

Battle Mode:
[A]Build Army Panel
[S]Send Army Button
[D] Command Army Panel

Fire Catapult:
*Mouse: Click-and-Drag at the head of Catapult to adjust target, release mouse to fire.
*Keyboard: Use arrow keys UP + DOWN to adjust catapult target, SPACE BAR to fire

Dig a Trap (Foot Soldier only Ability)
Click on the Foot Soldier in order to make it digging a trap. The trap will take a while to finish, so make sure you have people cover up for him.

Tank Regular/Tower form
Click on the Tank to transform it into a Tower.
Click on it again to turn it back to Regular form.

Resources Conversion:
In the Market, you can convert your Bonus Points into different resources.

Upgrade and Level-Up
Most buildings and weapons in this game can be upgraded. Foot Soldier and Elite Guard can also be leveled up to become stronger units.

Reviews


RaiinnnRaiinnn

Rated 0.5 / 5 stars January 27, 2011

HATED IT

This game kinda sucked, + thoese pop ups in the wars were soo anooying



Agent1509Agent1509

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 29, 2010

Fantastic Game, very well balanced.

Foot Men aren't expensive, so work well as cannon fodder.
(Although I dislike sending men just to die...)
But their ability to dig traps and upgrade to soldiers really makes em more than just cheap cannon fodder.

In the other end of the spectrum, the Knight is always awesome to unleash and have him plow through all the enemy.
Hes practically unstoppable and is definitely worth his cost.
So its a good thing players can only have one knight, else they'd just be plowing down enemies non-stop and en mass.

Then everything in between is also priced just right and all have their usefulness. EXCEPT the Archers, their range is just too short. But theyre still useful, sometimes...

Oh and while Im on combat, its great to be able to participate in the battle as the catapult and not just send and watch men fight and die. So excellent combat.

But now I have to talk about the negatives.
1. There is no way of knowing that surviving troops get converted to bonus points at the end of battles unless oneself opens the strategy guide. (I think it something worth mentioning early in the game)
2. The speed at which troops deploy is quite slow, and its very annoying to wait as long as one has to for the "Holy Spirit" to deploy. IMO, the "holy spirit" should deploy near instantly.
3. The fact that the game ends after the last mission blows. Maybe I want to go on the offensive in the goblin camp, ya know...
And about that, the map should have been accessible, allowing players to replay battles after having beaten the last mission. Or maybe go on the offensive, ya know...

Now that praise and criticism are over. Its suggestion time.
Suggestion #1... Sequel!
Suggestion #2... A survival mode with difficulty settings.
Suggestion #3... Already mentioned it. Access to map and selection of attacker post-last mission.

So there ya go, I give 10s if it doesnt need anything more or less.
But this is a 9 since it has its few little annoyance (deploy time, troop conversion) and lack of replay value.


People find this review helpful!

SMASH471SMASH471

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 28, 2010

Great job

reminds me somewhat of heroes of might and magic, but what i dont get is why everyone is stuck on the orc boss cuz i cant beat the night elf boss



Nikky1990Nikky1990

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 8, 2010

Awsome

This game is amazing.



JomskiJomski

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 17, 2010

cool

very great game