Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 19, 2009 | 12:19 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place April 20, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

UPDATE 04/21/2009: Update Boss and Elf Warrior.

Developer's Note:

After several months of development, polishing and exchanging ideas with many great players, reviewers and sponsors, we are finally able to release The Great Siege on Newgrounds.

The game features a great combination of impressive defense gameplay, sharp graphics, competitive balance and immersive theme music. The building system in the game pays tribute to Heroes of Might and Magic III, one of my personal favorite, while the battle system includes elements such as the catapult, tank transformation, and traps that make the gameplay more dynamic without being overwhelmingly complex. The Great Siege is generally a very simple game but it has a subtle depth of strategy that embraces many possibilities.

it was my great pleasure to work with Selcuk and his group on the original music score for The Great Siege. The amount of time they've put into the works and the creative energy and inspiration they brought into this game through their music are incredible. Every music track is not only perfectly fitting to the game's theme, but also elevates the atmosphere of the game to another level.

Above all, I really hope you guys will enjoy this game.

Let's keep PLAYING and keep in touch.
-------------------------
Game Description:
Friends and comrades, my brothers! The Dark Lord has sent his minions upon our city to end the last surviving bonds of humanity. We cannot let our city fall into the wrath of darkness and watch our home fade into another shadow of abyss. Brothers of humanity! Let's load up our cannons, fire up our catapult, and let us march through the gates and send those filthy devils besieging our home back to where they belong!!
-------------------------
Instructions:

Hot Keys:
City Mode:
[M] Market
[B] Building

Battle Mode:
[A]Build Army Panel
[S]Send Army Button
[D] Command Army Panel

Fire Catapult:
*Mouse: Click-and-Drag at the head of Catapult to adjust target, release mouse to fire.
*Keyboard: Use arrow keys UP + DOWN to adjust catapult target, SPACE BAR to fire

Dig a Trap (Foot Soldier only Ability)
Click on the Foot Soldier in order to make it digging a trap. The trap will take a while to finish, so make sure you have people cover up for him.

Tank Regular/Tower form
Click on the Tank to transform it into a Tower.
Click on it again to turn it back to Regular form.

Resources Conversion:
In the Market, you can convert your Bonus Points into different resources.

Upgrade and Level-Up
Most buildings and weapons in this game can be upgraded. Foot Soldier and Elite Guard can also be leveled up to become stronger units.

Reviews


stoneman472stoneman472

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 27, 2009

BOMBS AWAY!!!!!!!

Great game man! The second to last boss was a bitch tho. I hope there is a great siege 2


People find this review helpful!

BlazedementiaBlazedementia

Rated 4 / 5 stars April 27, 2009

Finally..

Beat this game.. the second to last level was the toughest. Anyway, great game! I didn't like the fact that if an enemy had been damged by one attack, it would lag the second wave following right after it. So I guess you could say that timing would have be a great factor when attacking. Hint to those playing this.. Deploy your tank behind your wall, the lasers will still go through and once your wall is down the tower will hold the enemy just at the point where your catapult will still do damage.


People find this review helpful!

Ruin368Ruin368

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 27, 2009

Good!

I would now like to congratulate you for being awarded a 'Certification of not Crap' for this game. Well done. The story could be a little more drawn as i was surprised by the vow the humans took at the end. It seemed a little too harsh for them but you set up a good story for the next one. Great.


People find this review helpful!

vampire2012vampire2012

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 27, 2009

great

great game kept me entertained u should make a 2nd one


People find this review helpful!

AndAgainAndAgain

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars April 27, 2009

Interesting

Great animating but the story line lacks interest to me. The music was amazing. Overall 7..