Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 12, 2009 | 7:39 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature April 13, 2009

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

>> 02/02/2010 - Updated to include HYPER mode. Same game, faster game play. :)
>> 02/02/2010 - RetroShoot360 will be on Newgrounds.com soon!
>> 01/15/2010 - The sequel to Retroshoot, RetroShoot360 is coming soon!

Hi! This is my first flash shoot-em-up game! I wanted to code a game that was easy to play, fun to look at, and also be challenging. I'd be very impressed if someone can play the game through without using any continues. Some of the levels can be kind of wacked out, but that's the spirit of the game. Nothing too complicated, just move the mouse around, avoid being hit and shoot everything.

It won the mochi friday game of the week which is cool. I hope you peeps enjoy the game.

Here's the "official" description. :) lol..

RetroShoot - Grab your mouse and shoot stuff!

RetroShoot is an easy to play shooter that's 100% mouse controlled with auto fire. Evade the retronauts and their fire, and battle your way through level after level of fast action game play. Along the way, collect power up orbs for massive weapon upgrades and bombs.

Features:
Colorful graphics with a neon retro look.
Visually exciting particle based explosions.
Over 40 levels with lots of variety.
Pulsating music track and sound fx.

Can you battle your way through all 40 levels?
Can you defeat the onslaught of the retronauts?
Can you unlock all 4 mini games?

04/17 Update!
That nasty bug causing the game to not run, should be nailed! But make sure you have Flash Player 10 installed as well. :)

04/15 Update!
Press "M" to toggle the music off/on.
Mystery error causing the game to not work sometimes should be fixed!

Reviews


TeHAeNiMaTeHAeNiMa

Rated 2 / 5 stars April 15, 2009

Horrible Music

I liked the idea and graphics, but that music was horrible and not possible to mute. You also should do some more Powerups, such as more weapon upgrades or something



Nuklear101Nuklear101

Rated 1.5 / 5 stars April 15, 2009

Not bad, some major flaws.

Same with meshoksisek, I had major problems with the powerup drops.

The powerup that fired purple orbs everywhere is nigh-useless. Either more damage or drop it completely.

Lightning powerup is WAY too overpowered. No matter how tough anything is, it dies.

Small ships? Useless. Just useless. More damage or just ANYTHING would be good.

But most of all, the fact that your weapon degrades just kills the game. It's impossible to get past ~level 20 when you have a 2 shot pissy little gun. It's just not fun.

I played it twice, it was fun for the first 15 or so levels, but the moment your weapon starts dying, it's no longer fun. It's frustrating.

Oh, also, mute music is always a nice touch. Just because you think your music is awesome, doesn't mean everyone else wants to listen to it.


People find this review helpful!

HalvgoedenHalvgoeden

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars April 15, 2009

Fun and Action Oriented, but a few flaws

I cannot bring myself to give this game a perfect score, but I can tell you it is worthy of earning more than the standard 2/5 and 5/10 I give most shooters and similar games submitted here simply because they are mostly all clones.

The style was great, though unfortunately a tad too reminiscent of Geometry Wars...but what this game lacks in graphical originality, it makes up for in excitement. I don't even have sound on this computer, and I'm having a blast playing.

A few problems I noticed:

-When the screen flips (nice touch) the text still displays as if the screen had not flipped. I don't know how you built this, but depending on how your code is written/how embedded that text graphic is, this could be easy to mildly irritating to fix. However, I think it would be worth your time considering it's pretty jarring to the senses.

-I can tell you spent some time on the graphics. They look nice when they aren't moving. I take personal offense (not really) to the shape tween you used to animate your enemies. I know you have a formula for making neon-sign looking lines...please take the time to make at least one other different frame for the enemies. I guarantee it will look 10x better than a shape tween.

-Although I see the appeal of auto-shoot, it left me feeling a little out of control. Some usable items would be nice, like a bomb I had to press "A" to use or something.

Other than those specific qualms, I have no problems with this game. In fact, it's pretty fun and easy on the eye. Please bring us more in the near future! I award you 3/5 and 7/10!

P.S. I never reached a boss level because I suck at these games. Is there one?


People find this review helpful!

CyberSyphilisCyberSyphilis

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 15, 2009

Not bad...

It was amusing for a bit longer than I had anticipated. The first few waves seemed boring, but it picked up just before I got bored. Music was alright, but got old fast. That's saying something because I like techno. Aside from the music loop, it was pretty sweet.



DirolTerminatorDirolTerminator

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars April 15, 2009

...

Make "turn off music" button