Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Mar 24, 2009 | 11:16 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature March 25, 2009
  • Weekly 5th Place March 25, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Inspired by The Visitor from Zeebarf, "Foreign Creature: The Unforgotten Mistake" is a point-and-click thriller where you see the world through the eyes of a foreign creature.

This blood-thirsty alien moves through the world unseen, leaving only a trace of blood and horror. Point-and-click to interact with the environment.

Warning: not recommended for audiences under 17.

Reviews


Mr-WhiteMr-White

Rated 4 / 5 stars November 25, 2010

Great movie! Poor game!

The artistry and design is excellent, and is on a par with the best pieces of work on NG. You are clearly very talented as an artist.

However, as a puzzle maker you have some way to go. This is my one and only gripe with Foreign Creature. It is that I don't consider this to be a point and click adventure/game but rather a point and click MOVIE. In all fairness you don't actually describe this as a game, but either way I think you're missing a few tricks.

There is almost no puzzle-solving or lateral thought needed at all for this 'game'. The only difficulty comes from finding frustratingly small flash-buttons hidden somewhere on the screen to progress the story. This is a shame as it ruins what would otherwise have been a perfect creation for two reasons:

1) It's just damned hard to find what you're meant to click on next. Especially as in most scenes there is no particular logic as to what has to happen next, we're just all trying to find the sequence the programmer has decided we MUST take. In the park scene I gave up and consulted the walkthrough and stayed on it for the rest of the 'game'. I didn't even feel bad about it because I didn't feel Foreign Creature was a test of any skill other than eye-strain-o-vision.

2) In 90% of the cases the order in which things can be clicked on is set in stone. If this was a genuine puzzle-game most objects should be interactive and in any order, which makes it much more thought-bending and interesting.

Whilst it not what I call the greatest puzzle-game of all time, the earlier Bowjas are a good example of the points I am trying to make. Another excellent puzzle game of a similar, albeit slightly different genre here on NG, is Alice is Dead.

All in all: Artisty, design (atmosphere, ambience, concept, etc), sound and music are excellent. 10/10.

Puzzle and thought-train 1.75/10.

Frustration 9/10.

Great movie, poor game!


People find this review helpful!

ApocalypticaGuardApocalypticaGuard

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 24, 2010

ESpectacular

Amazing game with very funny kills


People find this review helpful!

Lenore06Lenore06

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 19, 2010

Im Stuck ON The Traffic Part :'(..........

But I Like The Game



xtremboy4xtremboy4

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 17, 2010

coooool

very nice


People find this review helpful!

Breadsticks14Breadsticks14

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 17, 2010

Great

To bad there was a massively huge cliffhanger ending.


People find this review helpful!