Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Mar 20, 2009 | 8:25 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place March 21, 2009
  • Weekly 3rd Place March 25, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

A tribute to Newgrounds and 40+ of my favorite animations, games, & artists.

This was rushed, did it in 8 days so I didn't put quality into it. I tried to stay close as possible to each artist's style, though I failed on a few. I can think of 20 other series I could of added to this, but I could only do so many. The music is "Take Me Away" by Globus, go check out their website. I hope you enjoy the movie.

Here is the list of animations/games & animators:
TANKMEN - JohnnyUtah
Tankmen Infinity - Pikanjo
With My Mind's Madness - MindChamber
Pico's Unloaded - MindChamber
Brackenwood - Adam Phillips
"Dare" - squeakytoad
Super Hero Clock - Jess-The-Dragoon
Mission to the Moon - Lunaractive
Walk in the Woods - TheWeebl
On The Moon - TheWeebl
Portal Defenders - Luis & BoMToons
There She Is!! - SamBakZa
Merry Melony - Duhreetoh
Strawberry Clock - StrawberryClock
Teagirl - Shida & Wonchop
Madness Consternation - Krinkels
Nim's Winter tale - Kankuran
Balloon Agendas - Bogswallop
the Composer: - JAZZA
PALADIN - JAZZA
Red Riding Hood - Granfaloon
Joe Zombie - Rob-D
Future - Celarent
Space rocket - Celarent
Tail Chasers - Andrew Dickman
Foamy - illwillpress
Walk-Smash-Walk - Sakupen
Jinas 1: A New Friend - AloneInTheDark
Fancy Pants Adventures - DrNeroCF
Metropolis Circuit- rtil
Animator vs. Animation - noogai
Mastermind - The-Swain
The Story of Khale - LeafWorthy
Fallen Angel - RobsH66
Jerry and The Closet - HotDiggedyDemon
Throwback the Duck - David-Gornoski & Comlock
Castle Crashers - Behemoth
Alien Hominid - Behemoth
Dad 'n Me - DanPaladin & Tom Fulp
Line Runner - Angry-Banana
Aladdin 3150 - FleckoGold

Reviews


DarkGlobusDarkGlobus

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars March 22, 2009

The idea was great

But even though I was able to recognize many of the animation (which is something of an accomplishment by you), the flash wasn't really entertaining or meaningfully structured. I think it needed, in my humble opinion, some secondary idea to make it have a greater entertainment value - for example could one make the different charecters interact in some x-men-inspired concept, where the "good" ones fight the more vicious ng character, possibly borrowing form ultimate showdown.

But you say it was rushed, and still it has its movements! God job!



KieroneusKieroneus

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars September 26, 2009

. . .

What - no Salad Fingers?



JakBaronKingJakBaronKing

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars March 21, 2009

Now THAT's...a tribute

Though it does idolize works of art that is already done and famous here on newgrounds. It is in a sense a bit prejudice against others that deserve some spotlight.

It's like saying...that these are the BEST that Newgrounds has to offer. But that isn't so. But I can understand that you couldn't fit them ALL.

But rather...encourage other to visit this amazing website and see all of it's glory.
_____

Though some parts fit nicely. Other cameos seemed just a bit......

"Slurred" in there.

Like the Foamy Cameo...he's just wailing his arms around. Does not fit well with the music. A bit of a "throw-off" in my opinion.

There are others too that I felt did not match well in the music.
Because you have others that fit SO WELL that in comparison. the feelings of excitement leave me for a brief moment. Only to return again.
_____

But still yet...it is the best Newgrounds Tribute I've seen this year.

Good Job


People find this review helpful!

NowParadeNowParade

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars March 26, 2009

Cool Idea

I liked newgrounds back when Pico came out, but have only rediscovered the site recently(thanks to castle crashers). Watching this tribute has helped me catch up, but only marginally. It has real potential to be a site trailer of sorts. My problem is that I did not recognize most of the characters that you had in the tribute. If you had matched the titles with the shots then I would have gained more from it. I also wish that the characters were a little more fleshed out. Maybe you could cut some of them out to give the others some spotlight.


People find this review helpful!

MarcyVFMarcyVF

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars March 26, 2009

Yep

Okay, I thought this was pretty good, the animation and the transitions. I'm sorry that i'm mostly focussing on the negative things, but that's what I have to do:

-The motion tween was at times horribly choppy and nasty, and the animation after all WAS motion tweening.

-The animation wasn't very fluent in my opinion, sorry. Too much motion tweening, too much pencil tool.

-Originality: 0. Well maybe 1 for making up the transitions and stuff, but after all this is just copies of popular flash submissions on NG re-animated in another way. And that's why I think people like this because they get some sort of epic recognition orgasm when they see all these things they like ALL AT ONCE. Not very original, but a real tribute.

I didn't really think the song fitted too well, and I thought sound effects were needed in this case.
Better luck next time (even though you scored very hugh on this :P)