Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Feb 20, 2009 | 3:41 PM EST
  • Daily 3rd Place February 21, 2009

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

It was 1 year ago today(Feb 20 2009) that I first released the original PongOut around the web, to celebrate its first birthday today I'm releasing a brand new PongOut game, PongOut: Anniversary Edition(AE).

PongOut: Anniversary Edition is a multitasker where you have to play Pong and Breakout simultaneously. Use the Mouse or the Arrow/AWSD keys to move your paddles(controls selected ingame). In this new version theres a lot of new things, including the following:

Completely redesigned game mechanics (New score system, better difficulty balancing etc)
Gradual Difficulty Increases(Background changes represent the increasing difficulty, the ball gets faster with each progression)
Particle Effects and totally revamped graphics(Nearly every game element has undergone changes)
Brand new unlockable power ups(As you play you'll unlock new power ups when you reach certain scores, there are 2 new ones to unlock)
15 new Breakout levels, with a logical level up system
Tons of bug fixes

Your goal is to survive as long as possible to try and get a high score, the game features live score boards you can compete against the world! Each difficulty has seperate score boards so don't be afraid to try a harder mode if you can handle it ;). Press P to pause and M to mute the music anytime ingame.

I really hope you enjoy this one, I put quite a lot of effort into it! Also portal owners feel free to add this game to your site, spread the love :).

Have fun,

Max

Reviews


waterfox8waterfox8

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 26, 2009

bug

I think you have a bug somewhere in the game, on my second play i got to around 65000 and the break out side of the game stopped working, or more, i had to keep bouncing the ball around aimless and no new bricks spawned even though i'd cleared them all.
other than that, great idea, really good game, though maybe an option to hide the mouse pointer as i found it got in the way a little



hom3slicezhom3slicez

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 26, 2009

My brain.....

That was an amazing game it was a huge challenge trying to keep the x-coordinate of my mouse under the breakout ball and the y-position of my mouse at the pong ball. My first try i got 40,000 and second try i got 64,000, then I had to stop because my brain was really hurting lol. Great Game!



CoalyCoaly

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars February 26, 2009

review

Pretty nice game. The original concept was good, and the additions you made were nice. I hit a glitch, not sure what level, but I was at 35,000 points, and then the pong ball stopped being bounded by the top of the screen. I think I missed it, then three or four times in a row it spawned, hit the enemy paddle, went off the top of the screen, and took away a life. I think it started working again but I died right after that.

I skimmed the reviews and I see you've uploaded a fix to gamejacket... I guess it's still pending, but I'll leave this up in case it's already been updated and is still broken...



finally31finally31

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 26, 2009

love it but hate it

i love both games so yeah good combination and they are put together well i just hate the fact that its hard for my brain... but it is probably really good practice for my brain



rabbi106rabbi106

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 26, 2009

Awesome!

I love both games, and putting them together was such an awesome idea. Nice job.