Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 23, 2009 | 8:44 PM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place January 24, 2009
  • Weekly 5th Place January 28, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Welcome to Purgatory 5 Points Beat 5 Levels
Dark Times 25 Points Beat 10 Levels
Support the Creators! 25 Points Check out Closure on Steam!
Lost in the Dark 50 Points Beat 20 Levels
Closure 100 Points Beat the game

Author Comments

www.closuregame.com

This is the original flash prototype of Closure.
After releasing this here on Newgrounds, we spent 3 years making a bigger and better commercial version of the game from the ground up in a new engine.

It is NOW AVAILABLE ON STEAM and you can check it out here
http://store.steampowered .com/app/72000/

The new version of the game is better in every single way. The graphics are better, the music is better, the gameplay is smoother, the puzzles are less frustrating (and there's nearly 100 of them!), there's new mechanics, new features, new characters, and hidden silver moths to keep you busy for a long time.

Enjoy!

Reviews


LaloLalo

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 26, 2009

Amazing! ...and creepy.

Not only that, but the art was nice and went quite well with the music, it all gave the game the creepy ambience you wanted to achieve. Also, kudos for the intro, verrrrry well made. The game mechanic was something i had seen before, but not this well executed! Seems like you guys used alot of masks and stuff here. The level design was good even if the lack of stuff to see (or color) was a bit annoying, even it was meant to be like that. The puzzles remind me of Braid or Portal, mainly because i get that OMG I TOTALLY SOLVED THIS IM SO SMART feeling i got with these games :)

Anyways, EXCELLENT job here :D


People find this review helpful!
Glaiel-Gamer responds:

Heh there was no masking used at all in the game, besides for one art asset on level 26


PyroDogPyroDog

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 26, 2009

Well Done.

Nice job. I thoroughly enjoyed the game. The puzzles toward the end were surprisingly difficult - it was awesome when I finally cracked them.

I'm fairly certain that the solutions I have for levels 21, 24, 25, 26, 27, and 29 (especially 25, 27, and 29) are pretty unorthodox. I'd love to make a youtube video showing the ways I did them, and look at other ways, including the "official" method. But I don't want to be the asshole who ruins how to solve the puzzles for other people. Part of the fact that makes this game so fun is that there's no walkthrough - though I'm sure some people could appeciate some hints here and there.

Reason why I gave it 9/10 is for two reasons - one is that there seems to be a small bug where the avatar keeps walking even if you have no keys pressed when you land on patch of ground that's normally a wall but is only partly illuminated. This happens some of the time, but I'd surprised if this didn't happen to you if you played through the game the entire way. I'm sure you'll encounter it a few times, and it's a bit irritating to start the level over again when the avatar kept running and you didn't want it to.

Second reason is because it'd be nice if you could go back to the menu screen once you're in the game, so you could select another level.

Other than that, fantastic game. Good job. (Heck, I created an account just so I could write a review, that's how good this game is).


People find this review helpful!

SteadsSteads

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 26, 2009

AMAZING!

I've finally beat this game - the BEST submission of the year... THE WHOLE YEAR (yeah, I'm calling it already) ! Keep up the amazing work.

Level 25 was hard! What made me mad was the way I beat it was the way I tried the first few times and failed XD - I probably tried 30 different ways to do that level. I'm glad there isn't a walkthrough posted up anywhere yet.

I even went back and played through a few levels again to make sure I didn't miss any writing on the walls.

Awesome job, keep it up!


People find this review helpful!

TheraObeliscataTheraObeliscata

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 26, 2009

Creative, creepy, thought-provoking.

Great game, seriously. I actually made an account just so I could praise it. As was already said, however, it's a little annoying when you get stuck and don't know what to do. I suspect the level I'm on is 25 (I haven't x'd out to check, for fear of losing my game). To be honest, it's really driving me nuts. As was already said, again, this will not affect my rating of it either, but it'd be pretty cool if someone/the designer could give little hints (I would love you forever, seriously).

Anyway, creative game, like none I've ever played. Pleasantly creepy too. Definitely thumbs up. I feel a very, very strong compulsion to beat the game and grasp the entire plot.


People find this review helpful!
Glaiel-Gamer responds:

the game saves your progress, so you can come back to it anytime


DryWaterDryWater

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 26, 2009

Awesome

Easily one of the most original, compelling games I've seen in a while. Great work!