Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 20, 2009 | 6:13 PM EST
  • Daily Feature January 21, 2009

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Morning all - here's a game I started about 18 months ago... it fell by the wayside while I build Swords and Sandals III, but here it is at long last.

"Get Off My Planet" is basically a mixture of the tower defence and city building genres. Your mission is to grow your city and terraform a new planet whilst battling waves and waves of enemy starships.

This is the full version of the game - not a demo.

Version 1.1.1 should be live today and incorporates much of your feedback.

* Added a "SEND WAVE" button to send waves at you as frequently as you want
* Enemy waves appear more regularly on "Nooblet" difficulty
* Game now has 3 difficulty settings
* City does not auto-upgrade any more
* Power system has been restructured to make it easier to understand
* Food consumption is based on current city population, not max population
* Various other bug fixes inplemented.

Thanks for your feedback.

You may notice the president on the title screen looks familiar - I thought that might be a bit of fun considering Obama's inauguration. It was a last minute addition to the game, not a political statement - I'm Australian, not American :)

Special thanks to Hendrik Buyle for coding up the enemy and tower AI for me, to Tony Lowe for his outstanding artwork and to Ben Leffler of "ExMortis" fame for the brilliant soundtrack tune.

And for those who say I never put any free games on Newgrounds, here's one ! Enjoy!

Cheers Oliver

Reviews


DobsDobs

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars May 4, 2009

great, but flaws

First of all: I really like the concept, design, charme and humor of the game.
There were some serious flaws though.

I had lots of bugs. Energy generators would never cost more than 500$ (it said they would be more expensive but it never cost more than 500). My mouse cursor had the wrong icon some times, the planet picture and the building grid arent aligned correctly. Selling turrets cost me money. The buildings werent centerd on the mouse button. Sometimes when i would start over, the city was "red" so if i clicked, it simply didnt place the city and a few minor other bugs.

(from here on its personal opinion only)
The gameplay: It starts off very hectic. Between start and first wave should be more time. The Turrets vs. energy ratio is ok with 2-4 turrets but as soon as you want to expand, the energy usage is a bit over the top. Buildings get to expensive over time so the cash nearly never was enough. after wave 50, all went wrong. You couldnt have enough energy to run your turrets. Well. Unitl wave 30-40 i really liked the game. I would change a few things, but its a fine piece of work already.


People find this review helpful!

zXflameXzzXflameXz

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 24, 2009

extremely good!

probably about the best game ive ever played on ng. it was pretty hard but addicting and long, well extremely hard. i played on nooblet and almost beat the game i was on wave 51 with a city of almost 24000 people but then i got clobered by a green missle that did over 97000 damage. anywayz i guess overal this is pretty much the best game ive ever played on ng. by teh wayz the power plants get way to expensive by the end because u pretty much have to cover the entire planet with power plants and leave room for like an entire ring of guns and then u need hospitals to and at the end for some wierd reason suddenly all of my guns started using a whole lot more energy. either that or its just that ive got to many guns around my planet. u should make another 1 bcuz this is just so damn good and addictive. anywayz about the towers using to much energy at wave 51 i had +70 energy and that still wasnt enough.

5/5
10/10

zXFlameXz


People find this review helpful!
hechaos responds:

Cheers zXflameXz , appreciate the review!


mtabrammtabram

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 15, 2009

Tutorial

Do you got a tutorial for a game like this one? By the way, great game.



SuperRageSuperRage

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 21, 2009

Awesome.

Great defense/city building game. My highest score on nooblet was 915500. It'a impossible to beat it after wave 50 though. Very fun and addicting.


People find this review helpful!

MasterMeatMasterMeat

Rated 4 / 5 stars February 22, 2009

Bug

It's really fun but i found a bug. When i got passed wave 50, no more waves would come. i didn't wanna wait to get money to upgrade my city. plz fix the bug


People find this review helpful!