Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 21, 2008 | 10:43 PM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place December 23, 2008

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Castlevania
    Castlevania Check out these hilarious spoofs, as well as a tribute that recreates the final battle against Dracula!

Author Comments

Hey folks,

Welcome to Rhapsody of Ruin, a movie based on the two main characters of CastleVania SOTN (PSX Version) in a semi-canonical story, mostly focusing on an over elaborate sprite fight as opposed to actual story telling.

I hope fans of the game enjoy this flash - It's definitely not perfect but I'm still very proud.

Thank you to any and all people who have lent this movie support over the years, it did much better than I could ever have dreamed of - Also thanks to any other people passing by who lend comments & reviews.

Reviews


DustubuniDustubuni

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 30, 2012

Nice. Very smooth animation, music was fitting and the sound clips were perfectly in-sinc. A little on the short side, but other than that it was really good.


RopeDrink responds:

Thank you very much - I would have made it longer but the filesize was getting way too big due to my poor audio compression and by using my own photoshopping work exported and high quality (ie. big files).


GTMcpowersuitGTMcpowersuit

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 27, 2012

Very cool,i love a good fight,speacilly if it includes sprites :) and the voice actors are awesome too


RopeDrink responds:

The voice clips are from the official game, not acted :P Thanks for the compliment.


falzarboy12falzarboy12

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 29, 2012

loved it but im rating a 4 for the annoying cliffhanger
great animation and awesome sound too
dont put a cliffhanger



epicnoob243epicnoob243

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 22, 2012

awesome... especially that it is your first vid. it actually deserves to win an award. 1 thing... i thought simon was the original belmont. then again i know absoloutely nothing about castlevania, so i dont mind if anyone corrects me. sorry for my arrogance


People find this review helpful!
RopeDrink responds:

It's irrelevant who is the first Belmont as this movie is 100% based on Symphony of the Night - Ricther Belmont was a temporary antagonist (Bad Guy) in the game and Alucard is the Hero - I had absolutely no intention of adding other Belmonts or other characters that did not appear in SOTN.

People keep asking if I made a sequel would/could I include X, or Y, or Z character from other CV games. The answer is no - If I ever did make a sequel (Which is definately not going to happen I'm afraid) it would still be based on SOTN thus would not contain other Belmonts or other characters from different CV games.

Thank you for the rating, hope that explains things.


xPaleRiderxxPaleRiderx

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 19, 2012

Man that was AMAZING!
I'm a huge fan of Castlevania, and this was a lot of fun to watch.
Great moves and flow from both Alucard and Richter, original dialogue was nicely put together,
and all together the movie had the vibe of almost being a real part of history in the story line.
I know this is an older submission but please make more of these gems!
Perhaps with some graphics / characters from Harmony of Dissonance???
:D


People find this review helpful!
RopeDrink responds:

Thank you for the compliment, though I'm afraid this is my first and likely last animation - My harddrive containing all resources and program for it has died about half a year ago so any small desire I had to make another has gone. I'd like to leave this as it is, an open ended tribute to SOTN (The only Castlevania I had any intention of animating), a lot of people requested I make a sequel and/or add other characters but I prefer it to be as canon as possible (Even if it bends the rules) as Alucard & Richter both make great characters from a great game.