Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 16, 2008 | 9:07 PM EST

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Just that special playmate for everyone...
Walter is an interesting flash for me. I wanted to work on more of the storytelling aspect of flash and try to go scene to scene with it. I was intriqued by the comment left on my last flash "Inspiration" that talked about the concept of "inner conflict". I thought about it for a while, and suddenly I thought up "Walter". Walter, the enity who does nothing but evil without hesitation, and without resistence from those he plays upon. I don't believe in good and evil, so the idea of an entity that is nothing but pure evil, I find frightening. This is the result. I took some elements from my last flash "Inspiration" and incorporated it here. I hope it goes well with wacthers. I had alot of trouble with the music, but I think I worked it out the best I could. Enjoy...
12-8-08 - 12-16-08
4 Minuets, 27 seconds.
8500 frames.
123 layers.

Reviews


SoulEmotzSoulEmotz

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 17, 2008

9/10

Amazing. On Newgrounds, I usually look for funny animations, because the "dramatic" or "psychologic" ones tend not to be so good. Well, seems I was wrong!

Your flash skills are average, but, it doesn't even matter; the story was truly amazing.

Could've explained a little more about Walter tho. What does he do ? You say: "Walter, the entity who does nothing but evil without hesitation, and without resistance from those he plays upon.". Well to me, he appears out of nowhere, and then the psychiatrist kills his wife for no reason, which kinda annoys me 'cause I'd like to know why. What does he do that is so terrible, that the little girl kills her family and herself, and that makes the man kill his wife ?

Anyway ! I loved it. Great story ! Could make a sequel about Walter's origins.

5/5, 9/10. Didn't tell us enough about Walter.



Prometheus-FirePrometheus-Fire

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 16, 2008

I'm looking forward to your future stories

I watched this, and then "Inspiration" and I think you have a hell of a lot of potential in story telling.

There are a great many flashes here with a lot of eye candy but mediocre (at best) writing. The animation here is extremely minimalistic, but the writing is engaging.

And I mean the whole package when I say "writing." Your pacing and use of suspense is excellent.

I think you would benefit from having someone compose music for your flashes, as what you have here and in "Inspiration" is loops with silence in between. The mood of your pieces deserves higher quality music.



GreenboGreenbo

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 16, 2008

Spooky shit!

You gave the viewer an awsome feeling!



OnlyRedundentOnlyRedundent

Rated 4 / 5 stars December 16, 2008

One of the best.

You have a well designed plot. Even though you could expect what was going to happen in the end. Work on your art and animation and your good to go. 4/5



RPGsrokRPGsrok

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 16, 2008

Lots of Potential

As far as the plot went, I thought you did quite well. Despite, a bit of a cliche' feel, there was still a sense of suspense, and the point came across.

As others before me have said though, I'd really suggest you work on your animation. It's not like everyone can draw well, but even things like altering camera angles, or using a few gradients can make your work more engaging. Taking the first example, it seemed like most of your figures were drawn from the front on; I'd suggest trying a few side or back shots, and if you're feeling ambitious, try drawing as if looking slightly up or down upon the character (not straight up or down - angled). Even using close-ups on the face can have impact and vary the look of the movie.

You have a lot of potential. Keep trying, and good luck. 3/5, 7/10


People find this review helpful!