Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 10, 2008 | 3:02 PM EST
  • Daily Feature December 11, 2008
  • Weekly 4th Place December 17, 2008

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

I guess with all the request, Now I have to make a sequel :). But first, I must finish my schedule projects before I come back to this. Anyways, that was just a quick update after reading all the reviews and pms

*Thanks for the daily award you guys

* Thanks for the front page Tom! And thanks to all the voters on newgrounds

Let me clear things up really fast. This is not actually based on the great Howard Hughes. I just used it as an name because I wanted to keep the aviator theme going by adding that little reference. It is NOT based on Howard Hughes

MY OFFICIAL ENTRY FOR THE CHRISTMAS CONTEST

Let me give you guys a quick run down of where I got the idea for this story. When I was a little boy, my mother would read me this poem about this kid who dreamed of following in his hero's footsteps. Everyone as a child had dreams about becoming someone they looked up to or thought was really cool. Some might want to be astronauts... or a hero of some kind... However, the boy in this story wants to be an Aviator

So that's where the basic idea came from. I took a tiny bit from my life and applied it to this animation. I want to thank Deven Mack (also known as D-mac Double) for doing the voices of the little boy Howard Hughes and his father Jonathan Hughes. Francine Louise did the voice of Laney Hughes, the boy's mother. She nailed it in like two takes. I'm glad to be working with these voice actors yet again. It was tons of fun

Andrew Sinclair, a really talented musician, created the musical score for the animation. I didn't want to rush him because I felt like if the music was bad, then it would just ruin the submission. However, he did a bang up job on the music in this piece and hopefully I'll be working with him again sometime in the future. He really needs to be doing this for money like Cambo said because this guy is amazing :)

This is the first animation I have ever done using a tablet. For the backgrounds, I used Corel Painter X and Flash was used for the animation and effects (such as snow). This story is really close to my heart, so I hope you guys enjoy it. I started this on the week of Halloween and finished two day prior to today. Anyways, like always, I'll be reading all the reviews and trying to reply to everyone of them,

Running Time: 2 minutes

Video clips used in this movie are from King Kong, the original 1933 version created by RKO pictures

Reviews


DragproductionsDragproductions

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 11, 2008

great!

Wow
Very touching man.
good job


People find this review helpful!

excelsiorhazzahexcelsiorhazzah

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 14, 2008

it was wonderful in my book.

my friend i full heartedly disagree with what others are saying about this piece of work. i find it was well animated, the voices fit their characters, the story was easily construed, etc. honestly, people are asking way too much of you and obviously can't intepret the story for themselves. in my opinion sometimes you just have to figure out what something means to you personally. it may not be exactly what the author was trying to say, but isn't that why we don't all think alike?


KartuneHustla responds:

Good point man! The story is open to discussion. The main point is for you to interpret the story however you see fit to what I give you. I don't want to have to explain every single detail to you. What it means to me may be different than what it means to you. The only theme that I want you to focus on is dreams. Other than that, I leave little things here and there for you to interpret. If you think it has to do with WWII, than good for you. If you think the boy is mature, good for you. If you think the kids a jerk, more power to you. I never give any information on the characters. You don't even know how old the boy is. He could be eleven, or seven. Its all up to you!


evetheaievetheai

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 14, 2008

Wow, Just, Wow....

First of all, 10 star, Bravo, Bravo,

Anyway, Onto the Story, =D I LOVED IT, you did a great job, And i read the post from excelsiorhazzah, And i can only Agree with him, it worked perfectly, in my eyes the Characters Tugged on my hear strings, This video has alot of what Christmas is, For some people i may be the presents, But for others, Like the kid Showed, Its family, He wanted to be with his mother on christmas. Its sad that she wasn't, The story makes me wonder, Maybe she died, maybe she was just away flying her plane and all, =D BUT GOOD FOR YOU <3 i loved the story,

And i have a challange for everyone, =3 why dosen't everyone in these comments tell us what the story DID mean to them, This meant family to me, The Dad even reinfoced that thought when he gave him the Present, Not wrapped, But Revealed to show it wasnt about the gift, But what the symbol was inside, A small plane, Just like his mothers....


People find this review helpful!
KartuneHustla responds:

Wow dude, that's the way you read through the cracks of the story. This review right here is a testament to what storytelling can do. The less you are given, the more you get out of it


KindPersonKindPerson

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 11, 2008

really good

has a very nice mood to it good job!



GeebitzGeebitz

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 14, 2008

Very heart warming

It's so nice to see an animation here that's so well done and sweet at the same time. I see a lot of well animated shorts here, but a lot of them are about a "different" Christmas.

This animation really made me feel happy. The story is fantastic, the animation is done so well. Not to mention the voice actors did a fantastic job as well.

Great animation. Great voices. Great story. Everything I like to see all in one. 5/5;10/10


People find this review helpful!