Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 10, 2008 | 3:02 PM EST
  • Daily Feature December 11, 2008
  • Weekly 4th Place December 17, 2008

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

I guess with all the request, Now I have to make a sequel :). But first, I must finish my schedule projects before I come back to this. Anyways, that was just a quick update after reading all the reviews and pms

*Thanks for the daily award you guys

* Thanks for the front page Tom! And thanks to all the voters on newgrounds

Let me clear things up really fast. This is not actually based on the great Howard Hughes. I just used it as an name because I wanted to keep the aviator theme going by adding that little reference. It is NOT based on Howard Hughes

MY OFFICIAL ENTRY FOR THE CHRISTMAS CONTEST

Let me give you guys a quick run down of where I got the idea for this story. When I was a little boy, my mother would read me this poem about this kid who dreamed of following in his hero's footsteps. Everyone as a child had dreams about becoming someone they looked up to or thought was really cool. Some might want to be astronauts... or a hero of some kind... However, the boy in this story wants to be an Aviator

So that's where the basic idea came from. I took a tiny bit from my life and applied it to this animation. I want to thank Deven Mack (also known as D-mac Double) for doing the voices of the little boy Howard Hughes and his father Jonathan Hughes. Francine Louise did the voice of Laney Hughes, the boy's mother. She nailed it in like two takes. I'm glad to be working with these voice actors yet again. It was tons of fun

Andrew Sinclair, a really talented musician, created the musical score for the animation. I didn't want to rush him because I felt like if the music was bad, then it would just ruin the submission. However, he did a bang up job on the music in this piece and hopefully I'll be working with him again sometime in the future. He really needs to be doing this for money like Cambo said because this guy is amazing :)

This is the first animation I have ever done using a tablet. For the backgrounds, I used Corel Painter X and Flash was used for the animation and effects (such as snow). This story is really close to my heart, so I hope you guys enjoy it. I started this on the week of Halloween and finished two day prior to today. Anyways, like always, I'll be reading all the reviews and trying to reply to everyone of them,

Running Time: 2 minutes

Video clips used in this movie are from King Kong, the original 1933 version created by RKO pictures

Reviews


Carousel-BibleCarousel-Bible

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 22, 2008

it was cute

i'm pretty sure that what i want to say you've already heard before, so yeah. good job. nice animation. the only thing that kind of irks me is the little boy's voice. Sometimes it seems a little overdone. Nothing that takes away from the animation as a whole though-- it's got a great setting and atmosphere. I'll be looking forward to more!


KartuneHustla responds:

thanks for the review man! Yeah, some people had problems with the voice, and others didn't. I can't do much about :P


ActiveObjectXActiveObjectX

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars December 22, 2008

It tried really hard...

I felt like the entire thing was trying to tug at my heart but it fell flat. The music is was set the mood, and it was find and dandy, even though cliche. The characters didn't really do much. There was no conflict going on in this movie. Yeah the kid wants to be a pilot, that's all? It didn't go anywhere.
The dialogue was pointless, this type of movie would be more successful without any dialogue at all. It came off as too generic and bland. Especially the Dad. Who says merry christmas to their kid like that? I lol'd at that scene.
Work on your drawings. Perspective baby. Keep your character style, but learn some hardcore perspective so you can do the dynamic style you were trying to do.
Also, the ending didn't really conclude anything or do anything at all. It just kinda ended it.
I know how long animations take, and the amount of effort needed, and i saw the effort it's just your final product fell flat. Try again next time. Oh and you like the Iron Giant, this movie screams that you like the Iron Giant.


People find this review helpful!
KartuneHustla responds:

I don't get what you mean by perspective. You really don't explain anything by saying perspective. But I'll work on my perspective. Everything in a movie needs perspective. If there is no perspective, then what the perspective makes this movie.
Like i said before in another response, I tried to make this a musical based project before I started, but the transition of him from inside to outside would be hard without having any dialogue at all. He finishes watching tv, then after that I don't have anything to make him go outside.
The dialogue, well... if you don't like it then you don't like it. Can't do much about that
And yes, there is no conflict. The point of this was to give you small things so you can interpret it for yourself. I guess you didn't get anything out of it, so that's that. Good review though.

-Perspective


ShmeckleShmeckle

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 22, 2008

Good Job

good job breaking away this website from the sensless humor (which i luv btw) and makin a meaningful animation, 10/10



BurntTechBurntTech

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 22, 2008

Nice

The music really added a nice touch to your movie. Touching is a good word for this.



Phoenix852Phoenix852

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 22, 2008

neato

This was actually really good. It had amazing animations, and super voice acting. It was cute, and really nice, even tho it wasnt funny.