Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 10, 2008 | 3:02 PM EST
  • Daily Feature December 11, 2008
  • Weekly 4th Place December 17, 2008

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

I guess with all the request, Now I have to make a sequel :). But first, I must finish my schedule projects before I come back to this. Anyways, that was just a quick update after reading all the reviews and pms

*Thanks for the daily award you guys

* Thanks for the front page Tom! And thanks to all the voters on newgrounds

Let me clear things up really fast. This is not actually based on the great Howard Hughes. I just used it as an name because I wanted to keep the aviator theme going by adding that little reference. It is NOT based on Howard Hughes

MY OFFICIAL ENTRY FOR THE CHRISTMAS CONTEST

Let me give you guys a quick run down of where I got the idea for this story. When I was a little boy, my mother would read me this poem about this kid who dreamed of following in his hero's footsteps. Everyone as a child had dreams about becoming someone they looked up to or thought was really cool. Some might want to be astronauts... or a hero of some kind... However, the boy in this story wants to be an Aviator

So that's where the basic idea came from. I took a tiny bit from my life and applied it to this animation. I want to thank Deven Mack (also known as D-mac Double) for doing the voices of the little boy Howard Hughes and his father Jonathan Hughes. Francine Louise did the voice of Laney Hughes, the boy's mother. She nailed it in like two takes. I'm glad to be working with these voice actors yet again. It was tons of fun

Andrew Sinclair, a really talented musician, created the musical score for the animation. I didn't want to rush him because I felt like if the music was bad, then it would just ruin the submission. However, he did a bang up job on the music in this piece and hopefully I'll be working with him again sometime in the future. He really needs to be doing this for money like Cambo said because this guy is amazing :)

This is the first animation I have ever done using a tablet. For the backgrounds, I used Corel Painter X and Flash was used for the animation and effects (such as snow). This story is really close to my heart, so I hope you guys enjoy it. I started this on the week of Halloween and finished two day prior to today. Anyways, like always, I'll be reading all the reviews and trying to reply to everyone of them,

Running Time: 2 minutes

Video clips used in this movie are from King Kong, the original 1933 version created by RKO pictures

Reviews


smirkstudiossmirkstudios

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 10, 2008

my gosh

very nice work. your scene angles and story work make this a very heart warming clip. definately pro work here.


KartuneHustla responds:

Thanks man. Yeah, I really wanted to try out new camera angles. Usually alot of cartoons keep a flat perspective. It was fun too because most of the angles were a big challenge, especially the part where he runs into his father. Took me one total day to just do the planning and animatics for that scene. Thanks for the review man. I'll tell you that storyboarding definitely helped me plan out everything


ToonerBuddyToonerBuddy

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 10, 2008

Amazing

Make more, make a series ! Please must know what is next. Great animation, well written story, great job, Happy holidays!


KartuneHustla responds:

hahah thanks man. Well this will not be a series. However, I am working on a series with a friend called Wizard Kin. Its back in production so we are reworking everything and hopefully it will be out soon. Happy Holidays to you as well


RutharRuthar

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 10, 2008

Truely EPIC!

WOW,

Now thatb is a brilliant and... touching story really nice how you carry the story through from a kid watching a film to you seeing into his imagination really nice transition and works well. Animation was really nice as well and everything seemed to be smooth, liked the art style and the voice acting was nice.

:) loved it.


KartuneHustla responds:

The good thing about him watching the film is that it makes for a good transition when you see him watching aviators fighting off King Kong. It reminds me alot of my childhood where I would watch tv shows and act out what they are doing. Many children do it... its not just me, but I find it really helps bring out Howards personality when you see him watching tv. Thanks for the review man


PepperfrogPepperfrog

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 10, 2008

Wonderful.

It was wonderful. Nice story and greatly done.

Cheers. :)


KartuneHustla responds:

Thanks man. I'm glad you liked it


21142114

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 10, 2008

Well Done

Good animation and good story about howard hughes... I think
if it was he was born in 1905


KartuneHustla responds:

Thanks man. Like i said before its not about Howard Hughes, but I'm glad you enjoyed it :)