Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 10, 2008 | 3:02 PM EST
  • Daily Feature December 11, 2008
  • Weekly 4th Place December 17, 2008

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

I guess with all the request, Now I have to make a sequel :). But first, I must finish my schedule projects before I come back to this. Anyways, that was just a quick update after reading all the reviews and pms

*Thanks for the daily award you guys

* Thanks for the front page Tom! And thanks to all the voters on newgrounds

Let me clear things up really fast. This is not actually based on the great Howard Hughes. I just used it as an name because I wanted to keep the aviator theme going by adding that little reference. It is NOT based on Howard Hughes

MY OFFICIAL ENTRY FOR THE CHRISTMAS CONTEST

Let me give you guys a quick run down of where I got the idea for this story. When I was a little boy, my mother would read me this poem about this kid who dreamed of following in his hero's footsteps. Everyone as a child had dreams about becoming someone they looked up to or thought was really cool. Some might want to be astronauts... or a hero of some kind... However, the boy in this story wants to be an Aviator

So that's where the basic idea came from. I took a tiny bit from my life and applied it to this animation. I want to thank Deven Mack (also known as D-mac Double) for doing the voices of the little boy Howard Hughes and his father Jonathan Hughes. Francine Louise did the voice of Laney Hughes, the boy's mother. She nailed it in like two takes. I'm glad to be working with these voice actors yet again. It was tons of fun

Andrew Sinclair, a really talented musician, created the musical score for the animation. I didn't want to rush him because I felt like if the music was bad, then it would just ruin the submission. However, he did a bang up job on the music in this piece and hopefully I'll be working with him again sometime in the future. He really needs to be doing this for money like Cambo said because this guy is amazing :)

This is the first animation I have ever done using a tablet. For the backgrounds, I used Corel Painter X and Flash was used for the animation and effects (such as snow). This story is really close to my heart, so I hope you guys enjoy it. I started this on the week of Halloween and finished two day prior to today. Anyways, like always, I'll be reading all the reviews and trying to reply to everyone of them,

Running Time: 2 minutes

Video clips used in this movie are from King Kong, the original 1933 version created by RKO pictures

Reviews


OctoFlashOctoFlash

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 10, 2008

well deserves the first place.

definitely! i mean: it's fu*king touching and the graphics and animations are just great! i like the voice acting the the BG music fits perfectly! what else can i say? beautiful!


KartuneHustla responds:

Wow man, thank you. I'm glad I got people to feel touched by this. That's what I was going for. If you are gonna do drama, then why not touch someone (that's what she said )


OnlyRedundentOnlyRedundent

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 10, 2008

A Valued Flash

This is a great flash. I've never seen a flash of this kind before. I like the animation and art. A very well plot if I do say so. 5/5 10/10


KartuneHustla responds:

Wow man, thanks alot. It feels great that you guys enjoyed this


PhobotechPhobotech

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 10, 2008

Heartwarming.

Crisp, well done animation with great lip syncing to superb voice-acting. Written and structured beautifully; this easily could've been the beginning of a professionally animated movie.

This gets my vote for the Christmas contest, because it doesn't drown itself in the corporate, whored-out Coca Cola Christmasy bullshit. This is a Christmas flash about family, giving, and imagination.

Loved it. Voted 5. Favorited.

Merry Christmas!


KartuneHustla responds:

Man, thanks for the awesome review. And a very Merry Christmas to you too


YuggothYuggoth

Rated 4 / 5 stars December 10, 2008

It's good...

Just, the names kinda undid it for me. Fun fact, the real Howard Hughes would have been 40 when this is taking place and even then, the idea of a house mom pilot just kinda throws it out. The idea is sound though, and the animation style is pretty cool.


KartuneHustla responds:

Well I never mention she is a house mom. Its up to your interpretation to make out what you think is going on. She's a female pilot. There were female aviators. Amelia Earhart was a part of a formation known as the Ninety Nines. She could have possibly been a pilot in that organization. But, its up to your interpretation. Glad you liked it though


ZwickelZwickel

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 10, 2008

TOUCHING

No pun intended, this is an awesome animation... It's great to see how some of the animators here on NG have real talent to succeed if they become animators for a living.
The voice acting is great, I mean, it's D-Mac, he's great to work with. And well, the only thing I can complain a bit is about the bitmaps that sometimes look jagged, but out of that, I think this is the best submission so far for the Christmas contest.

You really captured well the character's emotion with his body movement, and well, that's all I can say by now.

Neat work, keep it up!


KartuneHustla responds:

Thanks man. I'm glad you enjoyed it. And yes, D-mac is the bestest (thats right, I said bestest)